Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/05 14:47:45
Subject: Overlapping fields of fire and split fire
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Rules question
If I wound an ork boy squad for example with a unit of guardsman i pop this strat. I then shoot one heavy bolter from my leman russ at that unit and the rest of my guns at a trukk. Or I shoot one model in another guardsman squad at the wounded ork boy unit and the rest is the guardsman at a different boy unit. Because part of the unit, or at least one gun from the tank targeted the wounded unit does that mean everyone else, or every other gun, gets +1 to its hit rolls even though they're not targeting the unit that I put the strat on?
It just says the unit needs to be targeted, not that it needs to be targeted by every model or that only models within a unit that target the wounded unit get +1 to hit
Thoughts?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/05 14:54:44
Subject: Overlapping fields of fire and split fire
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If it says the unit needs to be targeted, only one weapon needs to target it for that to be true.
It says unit not model,,, so it looks like that would work. I would argue that thats not RAI but it seems correct.
|
As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.
RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/05 15:14:25
Subject: Re:Overlapping fields of fire and split fire
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Codex: Astra Copywritum Errata wrote:Use this Stratagem after a CADIAN unit from your army has attacked an enemy unit in the Shooting phase and the attack resulted in the enemy unit losing one or more wounds. Add 1 to hit rolls for attacks made by other CADIAN units from your army that target the same enemy unit this phase.
As you can see, it says "Add 1 to hit rolls for attacks", that means only attacks that are targeting the "enemy unit" get the bonus. You can split fire, but the attacks not targeting the "enemy unit" won't get +1 to hit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/05 15:35:36
Subject: Overlapping fields of fire and split fire
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Ah yes,
It does parse that way.
BCB is correct, ignore my previous post.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/09/05 15:35:47
As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.
RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/06 02:45:24
Subject: Overlapping fields of fire and split fire
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Cheers, missed that 'attacks' bit!
|
|
 |
 |
|