Switch Theme:

Runes of the Farseer  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Runes of the Farseer lets farseers "re-roll any number of dice used for this model's attempt to manifest or deny a psychic power".

I have two questions:

1. Am I allowed to re-roll one dice first, view the results, and then re-roll the other?
2. If I do re-roll one of the dice using Runes of the Farseer, can I spend a CP to re-roll the other?

--- 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 slave.entity wrote:
Runes of the Farseer lets farseers "re-roll any number of dice used for this model's attempt to manifest or deny a psychic power".

I have two questions:

1. Am I allowed to re-roll one dice first, view the results, and then re-roll the other?
2. If I do re-roll one of the dice using Runes of the Farseer, can I spend a CP to re-roll the other?

For the first, it is a definite 'no'. You can only use the power once in each Psychic phase and you can't use the power to again to re-roll the second die, nor does it allow you to see the result of the first roll before you decide to roll the second die.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Point 1 I would say 100% no. You roll the dice, declare the Runes ability and then re-roll, with the 2nd result locked in.

Point 2, well, see here for the previous discussion that went nowhere https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/766740.page#10227467
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





 Ghaz wrote:

For the first, it is a definite 'no'. You can only use the power once in each Psychic phase and you can't use the power to again to re-roll the second die, nor does it allow you to see the result of the first roll before you decide to roll the second die.


Great explanation. I will use this the next time someone tries to play it this way.

 BaconCatBug wrote:
Point 1 I would say 100% no. You roll the dice, declare the Runes ability and then re-roll, with the 2nd result locked in.

Point 2, well, see here for the previous discussion that went nowhere https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/766740.page#10227467


Thank you BCB. Concise and informative as usual. Looks like the rules really need to specify what constitutes a "roll" before we can clear up this interaction. For now I'm leaning toward allowing it since as discussed in the thread, you're never actually re-rolling dice that have already been re-rolled.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/09/06 22:39:33


--- 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: