Switch Theme:

Declaring charging vs actually charging  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in it
Regular Dakkanaut





In the fight phase, a charging unit can hit only models it charged in the previous charge phase. As far as I understood it, in these years, my attacking unit can hit the opponent unit only if I successfully charge them (they are 10' away, I roll 10 in the charge, they are charged, otherwise the charge is failed); but lately I hear talking about tactics in which you declare to charge units even if you won't be able to reach them with the charge move, because you can hit them if you fight 2 times, if they heroically intervene and so on... is this right?

In other terms, can I hit only units I end my actual charge move within 1', or do I just have to declare and take the overwatch?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 DarklyDreaming wrote:
In the fight phase, a charging unit can hit only models it charged in the previous charge phase. As far as I understood it, in these years, my attacking unit can hit the opponent unit only if I successfully charge them (they are 10' away, I roll 10 in the charge, they are charged, otherwise the charge is failed); but lately I hear talking about tactics in which you declare to charge units even if you won't be able to reach them with the charge move, because you can hit them if you fight 2 times, if they heroically intervene and so on... is this right?

In other terms, can I hit only units I end my actual charge move within 1', or do I just have to declare and take the overwatch?
You just have to declare and take the Overwatch.

It doesn't matter if your initial charge doesn't reach a target unit, if you manage to Pile In or Consolidate into a unit you declared a charge against, you get to attack them
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




And you only need to end you charge w/in 1" of ONE of the units you charged. Make sure you end your charge move outside of 1" of any other units you charged and you protect yourself from getting interrupted by those units until you Pile In to them (just make sure they are the closest model for your pile in move)...

Charging and CQC are probably the most tricky/tactical aspects of the game.
   
Made in us
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






From the main rulebook FAQ:

Q: If a unit that can fight twice in the Fight phase charges
one enemy unit and destroys it during their first ‘fight’ in the
subsequent Fight phase, and then consolidates into a second
enemy unit, can they then attack that unit during their
second ‘fight’?
A: The charging unit can only make attacks against the
second unit if it also declared a charge against it in its
charge phase.
   
Made in it
Regular Dakkanaut





My god that's so odd... I doubt that the rule makers thought about this...
Thank you very much guys!
   
Made in nl
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 DarklyDreaming wrote:
My god that's so odd... I doubt that the rule makers thought about this...
Thank you very much guys!


How do you mean?

I think it's very much intentional to limit how far a killing spree can go with one unit in one turn.
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard





 BaconCatBug wrote:
 DarklyDreaming wrote:
In the fight phase, a charging unit can hit only models it charged in the previous charge phase. As far as I understood it, in these years, my attacking unit can hit the opponent unit only if I successfully charge them (they are 10' away, I roll 10 in the charge, they are charged, otherwise the charge is failed); but lately I hear talking about tactics in which you declare to charge units even if you won't be able to reach them with the charge move, because you can hit them if you fight 2 times, if they heroically intervene and so on... is this right?

In other terms, can I hit only units I end my actual charge move within 1', or do I just have to declare and take the overwatch?
You just have to declare and take the Overwatch.

It doesn't matter if your initial charge doesn't reach a target unit, if you manage to Pile In or Consolidate into a unit you declared a charge against, you get to attack them


Of course, failing your charge move usually prohibits pile-in and consolidation per the FAQ so you have to succeed somewhere.

My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 Stux wrote:
 DarklyDreaming wrote:
My god that's so odd... I doubt that the rule makers thought about this...
Thank you very much guys!


How do you mean?

I think it's very much intentional to limit how far a killing spree can go with one unit in one turn.


Exactly this. From at least 3rd edition(when I started playing) there have been times where a single unit could fight and take out multiple units by consolidating into them and then consolidating into the next. So long as they still had attacks left.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: