Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/17 15:06:52
Subject: Harald Dethwolf Glacius Frost Axe mortal woundz
|
 |
Youth wracked by nightmarish visions
Wittering
|
So looking at the rules for his melee weapon Glacius it has the note of:
"If a model suffers any unsaved wounds from this
weapon but is not slain, roll a D6; on a 6, the target
suffers a mortal wound."
Considering we are supposed to resolve dice 1 at a time I take this Glacius rule to mean that for every unsaved wound roll a D6, on a 6 the model suffers a mortal wound. It's only by the Fast Rolling Dice rule we role the saves at once.
E.g. a model takes 4 wounds but fails 2. Therefore roll 2xD6 and on a 6+ they suffer a mortal wound equal to the number of 6's rolled.
Or
A model takes 4 wounds but fails 2. Roll a single D6...
Thoughts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/17 15:10:50
Subject: Harald Dethwolf Glacius Frost Axe mortal woundz
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
That seems to be correct. Otherwise, such weapons state "when this model has completed all of its attacks" or some such. As worded, this weapon indeed triggers whenever they fail a save - however, mortal wounds caused this way will never spill over onto other models in the unit, since it only triggers if the model IS NOT slain by the attack.
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/17 15:11:28
Subject: Harald Dethwolf Glacius Frost Axe mortal woundz
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Typical GW poor wording. It should state "at the end of the fight phase" or something similar. Right now the rule is nonsensical and doesn't work.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/17 15:15:39
Subject: Harald Dethwolf Glacius Frost Axe mortal woundz
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
My interpretation is that you are supposed to perform this check after all wounds have been resolved, but I can see how it would work the other way as well.
|
8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/17 15:20:15
Subject: Harald Dethwolf Glacius Frost Axe mortal woundz
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Its only one D6, no matter how many unsaved wounds the target suffered.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/09/17 15:20:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/17 15:57:07
Subject: Harald Dethwolf Glacius Frost Axe mortal woundz
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
By the wording provided, which I'm assuming is verbatim, that's not how it works. Like the OP said, you roll attacks one at a time. After the first attack, if the model that was being attack lost any wounds but was not slain, you roll a d6. On a 6, it suffers another mortal wound. You then proceed to rolling for the next attack.
It indeed makes this weapon very difficult to fast-roll against some enemies. For really big single-model units (they either die or they don't, so spill-over isn't important) and really small ones (such that they die without even needing to roll for mortal wounds) it won't matter so much.
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/17 16:23:22
Subject: Harald Dethwolf Glacius Frost Axe mortal woundz
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Yarium wrote:By the wording provided, which I'm assuming is verbatim, that's not how it works. Like the OP said, you roll attacks one at a time. After the first attack, if the model that was being attack lost any wounds but was not slain, you roll a d6. On a 6, it suffers another mortal wound. You then proceed to rolling for the next attack.
Agreed. You can roll the D6 after the first attack, but you dont roll any more D6 on any attacks after that. Its only a D6, its not a D6 for every unsaved wound.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/17 16:39:27
Subject: Re:Harald Dethwolf Glacius Frost Axe mortal woundz
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
From the Main Rulebook FAQ:
Q: If a weapon such as a rail rifle has an ability that can inflict a mortal wound on the target in addition to the normal damage, but the ‘normal damage’ is subsequently saved, does the target still suffer the mortal wound?
A: Yes. Note that if the ‘normal damage’ was not saved, the wound would be allocated on the target unit first (and any resulting damage inflicted) before the mortal wound was inflicted
I see no exception for if the 'normal damage' comes from multiple attacks.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/09/17 16:41:00
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/17 16:45:53
Subject: Re:Harald Dethwolf Glacius Frost Axe mortal woundz
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Ghaz wrote:From the Main Rulebook FAQ:
Q: If a weapon such as a rail rifle has an ability that can inflict a mortal wound on the target in addition to the normal damage, but the ‘normal damage’ is subsequently saved, does the target still suffer the mortal wound?
A: Yes. Note that if the ‘normal damage’ was not saved, the wound would be allocated on the target unit first (and any resulting damage inflicted) before the mortal wound was inflicted
I see no exception for if the 'normal damage' comes from multiple attacks.
The rule says "any" not "each".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/18 09:14:44
Subject: Harald Dethwolf Glacius Frost Axe mortal woundz
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
p5freak wrote: Yarium wrote:By the wording provided, which I'm assuming is verbatim, that's not how it works. Like the OP said, you roll attacks one at a time. After the first attack, if the model that was being attack lost any wounds but was not slain, you roll a d6. On a 6, it suffers another mortal wound. You then proceed to rolling for the next attack.
Agreed. You can roll the D6 after the first attack, but you dont roll any more D6 on any attacks after that. Its only a D6, its not a D6 for every unsaved wound.
As written is looks like a D6 for every attack the opponent model survives, where is your evidence for only ever 1 d6?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/18 09:34:11
Subject: Harald Dethwolf Glacius Frost Axe mortal woundz
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
MagicCookie54 wrote:
As written is looks like a D6 for every attack the opponent model survives, where is your evidence for only ever 1 d6?
I already answered that, and i wont bother to repeat myself.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/18 14:07:39
Subject: Harald Dethwolf Glacius Frost Axe mortal woundz
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
MagicCookie54 wrote: p5freak wrote: Yarium wrote:By the wording provided, which I'm assuming is verbatim, that's not how it works. Like the OP said, you roll attacks one at a time. After the first attack, if the model that was being attack lost any wounds but was not slain, you roll a d6. On a 6, it suffers another mortal wound. You then proceed to rolling for the next attack.
Agreed. You can roll the D6 after the first attack, but you dont roll any more D6 on any attacks after that. Its only a D6, its not a D6 for every unsaved wound.
As written is looks like a D6 for every attack the opponent model survives, where is your evidence for only ever 1 d6?
The fact they say "any" wounds instead of "a" wound or "each" wound that would indicate that it applied to each unsaved wound makes it look like it applies only once.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/18 16:46:43
Subject: Harald Dethwolf Glacius Frost Axe mortal woundz
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
This is a good one. I read it both ways, but I'm leaning toward it should go off after each wound. 3x unsaved wounds, 3x D6.
"Any" is 1+.
"A" is 1.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/18 16:59:32
Subject: Harald Dethwolf Glacius Frost Axe mortal woundz
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It only goes off once, as the "any" condition can only ever trigger once.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/18 17:06:27
Subject: Harald Dethwolf Glacius Frost Axe mortal woundz
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
deviantduck wrote:This is a good one. I read it both ways, but I'm leaning toward it should go off after each wound. 3x unsaved wounds, 3x D6.
"Any" is 1+.
"A" is 1.
"Any" is not synonymous with "each".
"If you bring me any apples, I will give you four shillings and tuppence." is not the same sentence as "For each apple you bring me, I will give you four shillings and tuppence."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/19 16:22:21
Subject: Harald Dethwolf Glacius Frost Axe mortal woundz
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
BaconCatBug wrote: deviantduck wrote:This is a good one. I read it both ways, but I'm leaning toward it should go off after each wound. 3x unsaved wounds, 3x D6.
"Any" is 1+.
"A" is 1.
"Any" is not synonymous with "each".
"If you bring me any apples, I will give you four shillings and tuppence." is not the same sentence as "For each apple you bring me, I will give you four shillings and tuppence."
It can be. If you say you'll give me four shillings and tuppence for any apple I bring, and I bring you a bushel of apples, i'll have a shillingload. Any can mean more than 1.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/22 14:22:22
Subject: Re:Harald Dethwolf Glacius Frost Axe mortal woundz
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Further on this, what happens if we are attacking a 3-wound unit, such as Agressors? Can this potentially trigger multiple times in a single fight phase?
For example: The opponent fails a save, causing an Agressor to be down onto 1 wound, I then roll for the special ability, and roll a 6 causing them to suffer a mortal wound. The next Aggressor that fails a save is once again eligible for this special rule to trigger as it would be a different model that suffered an unsaved wound, but not slain.
|
|
 |
 |
|