Switch Theme:

Aegis of the Emperor - All wounds or just Psychic?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers




So, over last night's game, we had an incident with my Custodes against his 1k sons.

His Psychic phase, he smites my naught, it pops, and causes 3 mortal wounds to my Custodian squad near by.

I use Aegis of the Emperor for the 6+++, and my opponent cries foul. I read the rule, which is obviously RAI to block PSYCHIC wounds, but still. As written:



It's clear that it affects all wounds during a phase. He can't argue the writing, but argues the intent. I agree it's worded terribly. But it is what it is.

BCB got any thoughts on this?
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine



Manchester, UK

it is worded perfectly to me.

There is no such thing as a 'psychic' wound. Smite cause MORTAL wounds which this ability allows you to ignore on a 6+ in the psychic phase.

E: Misread Op.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/09/18 16:30:51


 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





It's very clear in my opinion. It affects all mortal wounds in the psychic phase. It's a pretty simple rule.

Yeah, it goes against real world logic, but thems the breaks.
   
Made in us
Deadshot Weapon Moderati




MI

He's not referring to using it against Smite wounds, but the wounds from the Dread exploding. While it may not be RAI, it definitely works according to the RAW.
   
Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers




Dadavester wrote:
it is worded perfectly to me.

There is no such thing as a 'psychic' wound. Smite cause MORTAL wounds which this ability allows you to ignore on a 6+ in the psychic phase.


The wound wasn't cause by SMITE, it was caused by the exploding Dreadnought.
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine



Manchester, UK

 FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
Dadavester wrote:
it is worded perfectly to me.

There is no such thing as a 'psychic' wound. Smite cause MORTAL wounds which this ability allows you to ignore on a 6+ in the psychic phase.


The wound wasn't cause by SMITE, it was caused by the exploding Dreadnought.


Ahh, apologies, missed that part!

Still it is a Mortal wound in the psychic phase, there is no such thing as a psychic wound. I get where the other player is coming from, but it is pretty clear it affects mortal wounds caused by the exploding dread.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/09/18 16:33:25


 
   
Made in us
Deadshot Weapon Moderati




MI

While it may seem a little odd, it can be easily fluffed away as the explosion being partly "psychic" in nature since it was caused by a "psychic" attack.
   
Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers




I would love to fluff this away, but I swear there was a FAQ in the past that dealt with this exact style of +++, where it said it only affects wounds caused directly by psychic abilities i.e. Smite. I think it was the Astra Militarum faq but I can't find it. WHERE IS BCB!?
   
Made in us
Deadshot Weapon Moderati




MI

Maybe if you repeat his name three times...
   
Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers




 ikeulhu wrote:
Maybe if you repeat his name three times...


That only works when you are standing on a kumquat wearing a banjo hat and singing "My Way" in D minor. Otherwise, we just have to start randomly misinterpreting rules.

Rule of 3 only applies to games with no heavy support!

Kurav's Aquila can only be taken when the included battalion has an odd number of Bullgryns.

Cover Saves only affect infantry with ranged weapons!
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






I don't see what the problem is. If it was only meant to work against psychic powers it would say it only works against psychic powers.
 FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
WHERE IS BCB!?
I had to go outside today, I hated it.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/09/18 18:24:53


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

RAW, it works against any mortal wounds in the psychic phase, no matter where they come from.
   
Made in us
Deadshot Weapon Moderati




MI

 BaconCatBug wrote:
I don't see what the problem is. If it was only meant to work against psychic powers it would say it only works against psychic powers.

The wording of the rule is clear, but he was concerned that there is a Special Snowflake FAQ somewhere that states otherwise and thought you may be aware of it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/09/18 17:16:00


 
   
Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers




Does no one care that I am clearly 100% correct about the way to summon the BCB by blowing the Horn of Incorrect Truths?
   
Made in us
Deadshot Weapon Moderati




MI

 FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
Does no one care that I am clearly 100% correct about the way to summon the BCB by blowing the Horn of Incorrect Truths?

The BCB summoning rules have not been FAQ'd yet, so your RAW were clearly correct!
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Stux wrote:
It's very clear in my opinion. It affects all mortal wounds in the psychic phase. It's a pretty simple rule.
This is 100% correct

Yeah, it goes against real world logic, but thems the breaks.


the rules were not written to be "Modern day real world" logical. It is a rules system. an abstract system used to play a game by those rules.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta






If you want to justify using this rule in your particular instance, simply imagine the Dread's explosion being more of a psychic boom than a standard boom.
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





 ikeulhu wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
I don't see what the problem is. If it was only meant to work against psychic powers it would say it only works against psychic powers.

The wording of the rule is clear, but he was concerned that there is a Special Snowflake FAQ somewhere that states otherwise and thought you may be aware of it.

then it should be in one of the custodes faqs

 
   
Made in us
Deadshot Weapon Moderati




MI

terry wrote:
then it should be in one of the custodes faqs

key word there is should. It would not be the first time if GW put a ruling some place other than the most obvious place.
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine



Manchester, UK

Well, in the absence of anything proving otherwise, it works.

If someone says it doesn't ask them for the FAQ or Errata, if they cannot produce it continue as you were.
   
Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers




 ikeulhu wrote:
terry wrote:
then it should be in one of the custodes faqs

key word there is should. It would not be the first time if GW put a ruling some place other than the most obvious place.


I swear there was a relic that gave the same protection ability in another codex...I looked through Chaos last night, not there. Maybe I'm thinking like GK in 7th. Ah well, asked and answered. Thanks for all the help!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: