Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/30 20:47:35
Subject: “Add +x to save” count towards armor or invul saves?
|
 |
Guardsman with Flashlight
Idaho
|
When an ability states to “add 1 to saving throws to this unit” such as the AM stratagem “Take Cover!” Can that be applied to either an armor save or if the unit has one, an invulnerable save?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/30 20:53:17
Subject: Re:“Add +x to save” count towards armor or invul saves?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
From the Main Rulebook FAQ:
Q: If an ability allows me to add 1 to saving throws, does it apply to both normal saving throws and invulnerable throws?
A: Yes, unless otherwise stated. Remember that invulnerable saves are unaffected by the +1 bonus models receive to their saving throws for the benefits of cover.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/30 20:54:17
Subject: “Add +x to save” count towards armor or invul saves?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
The Philosopher wrote:When an ability states to “add 1 to saving throws to this unit” such as the AM stratagem “Take Cover!” Can that be applied to either an armor save or if the unit has one, an invulnerable save?
There is no such thing as an "armour" save in 40k, there is only Save and Invulnerable save. If a rule says save, it applies to both Saves and Invulnerable Saves, as Ghaz quoted. However, Take Cover! received errata to only apply to "Armour Saves", whatever those are. As such it is no longer functional in any practical sense, while still theoretically being a thing you can do. Disclaimer: This is a strictly RaW answer, I cannot speak for the intentions of the rules writers, how others interpret or define certain colloquial phrases, nor how others may choose to interpret the errata to Codex: Astra Copywritum for the 8th edition of Warhammer 40,000, published by Games Workshop PLC.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2019/09/30 21:04:37
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/01 00:39:09
Subject: “Add +x to save” count towards armor or invul saves?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
This statement is of course false.
Armor save is detailed on P. 13 of the 40k Battle Primer.
Save (Sv): This indicates the protection a model’s armour gives.
And of course weapons have a thing called Armour Penetration...
Armour Penetration (AP): How good it is at getting through armour.
Therefore what you call a save, is actually an armor save.
the 40k book just says save because it is shorted, but clearly it is detailed as protection in the form of "armour" so it is absolutely an armour save.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/01 06:44:11
Subject: “Add +x to save” count towards armor or invul saves?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
DeathReaper wrote:the 40k book just says save because it is shorted, but clearly it is detailed as protection in the form of "armour" so it is absolutely an armour save.
By that logic, a Heavy Plasma Cannon is the same as a Plasma Cannon. Just because the additional fluff blurb states it represents a models armour, doesn't change the name of the characteristic, which is Save, not Armour Save. Anyway, I've said my piece, this will be the last I will speak of it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/10/01 06:45:15
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/01 06:57:26
Subject: “Add +x to save” count towards armor or invul saves?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
BaconCatBug wrote: DeathReaper wrote:the 40k book just says save because it is shorted, but clearly it is detailed as protection in the form of "armour" so it is absolutely an armour save.
By that logic, a Heavy Plasma Cannon is the same as a Plasma Cannon.
That is not the same situation at all. Strawman arguments like that do not help.
Just because the additional fluff blurb states it represents a models armour, doesn't change the name of the characteristic, which is Save, not Armour Save.
it is not fluff, it is extra information about the save and Armour Penetration...
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/01 23:50:42
Subject: “Add +x to save” count towards armor or invul saves?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Glasgow
|
please ignore BCB on this issue their are multiple threads on it where everyone ignores him. A RAW way of doing things doesnt apply when the RAW doesn't work because armour save don't exist in 40k. Therefore we default to RAI and everyone knows what they mean by armour save.
and by +1 to armour save they mean the saving throw and not the invul for take cover (useng the faq'd changed text).
While the AM psychic power adds one to the saving throws it means both saving throw and invulnerable saves
|
|
 |
 |
|