Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/30 23:40:37
Subject: Multi-Combat Question after your first unit wipes out their models
|
 |
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin
|
So I want to make sure that I'm reading this right.
We got Units A and B, both successfully charge Unit C (the opponents unit). Unit A activates in the fight phase, pushes in and wipes the opponents unit off the table. Its then free to consolidate. Unit B now activates, but the opponents unit is gone. I'm not seeing anything in the rules that this impedes the fight phase sequences, so Unit B is allowed to push in, and also allowed to consolidate afterwards. The only requirements I'm reading is that either is successfully charged or was within 1" of the opponent.
Does this seem correct? Is it too RAW vs RAI?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/09/30 23:46:46
Subject: Re:Multi-Combat Question after your first unit wipes out their models
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
From the Main Rulebook FAQ: Q: If a unit starts the Fight phase within 1" of an enemy unit but, due to casualties suffered and models removed, it is no longer within 1" of any enemy units later in the phase, can it still be chosen to fight? A: No, unless the unit in question charged this turn it cannot be chosen to fight if there are no longer enemy units within 1". Note that it is possible – if heavy enough casualties have been incurred – that even a unit that did charge may not be close enough, even after a pile-in move, to make close combat attacks. It can still, of course, consolidate.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/09/30 23:53:28
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/01 16:12:18
Subject: Multi-Combat Question after your first unit wipes out their models
|
 |
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade
|
That is exactly correct. A unit may be chosen to fight, even if there are no longer any enemies around, so long as it performed a charge move. Note that units which can fight two or more times in each fight phase can be selected multiple times (eg Khorne Berzerkers, Drazhar).
You can only direct attacks against units which were declared as part of your charge, however.
|
Triggerbaby wrote:In summary, here's your lunch and ask Miss Creaver if she has aloe lotion because I have taken you to school and you have been burned.
Abadabadoobaddon wrote:I too can prove pretty much any assertion I please if I don't count all the evidence that contradicts it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/01 18:39:33
Subject: Multi-Combat Question after your first unit wipes out their models
|
 |
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin
|
So if all charge targets are gone... and I successfully charged... what direction do I make my pile in move? (the consolidate move is towards closest enemy, that I get)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/01 18:48:28
Subject: Multi-Combat Question after your first unit wipes out their models
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Sazzlefrats wrote:So if all charge targets are gone... and I successfully charged... what direction do I make my pile in move? (the consolidate move is towards closest enemy, that I get)
The rules for Pile In are word for word identical to those for Consolidate.
|
|
 |
 |
|