Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/01 19:03:25
Subject: Aura of Terror (Chaos Knight) vs Disease of Mirth (Sloppity Bilepiper)
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
Aura of Terror: "When a Morale test is made for an enemy unit within 12" of this Warlord, your opponent rolls 2D6, discarding the lowest result, or either result if they are the same."
Disease of Mirth: "Whenever a NURGLE DAEMON unit takes a Morale test within 6" of any friendly Sloppity Bilepipers, roll 2 dice instead of 1 and discard the highest result."
It seems like both of these rules should have said (like the psychic bonuses have said lately), "Roll an additional die." Then i could roll three dice, discard both the highest and the lowest, and be left with the middle result. But it doesn't.
Both rules state I roll two dice. So I do that. Now the Knight trait says I discard the lower result, and the Bilepiper says I discard the higher result, leaving me with 0 dice.
Now I'm left with nothing to determine what my Morale result actually is.
So what should I do as a practical workaround? Roll three dice (sorta combining the two rules), or roll one die (making the two rules cancel out)?
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/01 19:43:28
Subject: Re:Aura of Terror (Chaos Knight) vs Disease of Mirth (Sloppity Bilepiper)
|
 |
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
Don't be in 12" of the knight.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/01 19:48:26
Subject: Aura of Terror (Chaos Knight) vs Disease of Mirth (Sloppity Bilepiper)
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:Aura of Terror: "When a Morale test is made for an enemy unit within 12" of this Warlord, your opponent rolls 2D6, discarding the lowest result, or either result if they are the same."
Disease of Mirth: "Whenever a NURGLE DAEMON unit takes a Morale test within 6" of any friendly Sloppity Bilepipers, roll 2 dice instead of 1 and discard the highest result."
It seems like both of these rules should have said (like the psychic bonuses have said lately), "Roll an additional die." Then i could roll three dice, discard both the highest and the lowest, and be left with the middle result. But it doesn't.
Both rules state I roll two dice. So I do that. Now the Knight trait says I discard the lower result, and the Bilepiper says I discard the higher result, leaving me with 0 dice.
Now I'm left with nothing to determine what my Morale result actually is.
So what should I do as a practical workaround? Roll three dice (sorta combining the two rules), or roll one die (making the two rules cancel out)?
BRB FAQ page 12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/01 20:06:53
Subject: Aura of Terror (Chaos Knight) vs Disease of Mirth (Sloppity Bilepiper)
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:Aura of Terror: "When a Morale test is made for an enemy unit within 12" of this Warlord, your opponent rolls 2D6, discarding the lowest result, or either result if they are the same."
Disease of Mirth: "Whenever a NURGLE DAEMON unit takes a Morale test within 6" of any friendly Sloppity Bilepipers, roll 2 dice instead of 1 and discard the highest result."
It seems like both of these rules should have said (like the psychic bonuses have said lately), "Roll an additional die." Then i could roll three dice, discard both the highest and the lowest, and be left with the middle result. But it doesn't.
Both rules state I roll two dice. So I do that. Now the Knight trait says I discard the lower result, and the Bilepiper says I discard the higher result, leaving me with 0 dice.
Now I'm left with nothing to determine what my Morale result actually is.
So what should I do as a practical workaround? Roll three dice (sorta combining the two rules), or roll one die (making the two rules cancel out)?
So, lets see........
Lord of Terror
The opposing player must roll an extra dice when taking Morale tests for units within 6" of your Warlord, and use the highest result.
Litany of Despair
If this prayer is heard, your opponent rolls two D6, discarding the lowest result, each time they take a Morale test for a unit within 6" of this priest.
Q: If multiple abilities that instruct the player to roll more dice than
usual and discard one of them apply to a unit (for example, when
taking a Morale test for a unit of Plaguebearers that is within range
of a friendly Sloppity Bilepiper’s Disease of Mirth ability and within
6" of an enemy Harlequins unit with the Silent Shroud’s Dance of
Nightmares Made Flesh Masque Form), how is this resolved?
A: You should roll one additional dice for each of these
abilities, and then apply any other effects. In the example
above, you would roll three D6 for the Morale test, and
then discard both the highest and lowest result, leaving
one remaining dice for the Morale test.
So, with aura of terror, disease of mirth, lord of Terror, and litany of despair we roll 5D6 ?? We discard one of the lowest dice for aura of terror, one of the lowest dice for litany of despair, discard the highest for disease of mirth, and we are left with two dice ?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/01 22:23:25
Subject: Aura of Terror (Chaos Knight) vs Disease of Mirth (Sloppity Bilepiper)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Where are you getting 5d6 from.
Aura of terror and the example of nightmares made flesh are identical in syntax. Add one dice for each of the two abilities. Total =1 to stay, 1 for nurgle ability, 1 for aura of terror = 3.remove the highest and lowest.
|
As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.
RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/02 07:26:25
Subject: Aura of Terror (Chaos Knight) vs Disease of Mirth (Sloppity Bilepiper)
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Type40 wrote:Where are you getting 5d6 from.
Aura of terror and the example of nightmares made flesh are identical in syntax. Add one dice for each of the two abilities. Total =1 to stay, 1 for nurgle ability, 1 for aura of terror = 3.remove the highest and lowest.
The FAQ says to roll one additional dice for each of those abilities. They list two abilities, which are two additional dice. Four abilities = four additional dice.
|
|
 |
 |
|
|