Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/05 19:36:08
Subject: Newby detachment question
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
I thought the general rule is that a unit can only count as being in 1 detachment. So that even if a unit was called for in two different detachments you needed to have two separate units (one for each). What happens when a detachment is included in another detachment? Do units get both benefits or do you get to pick which benefit you gain or do you only gain the larger detachment's benefit?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/05 19:41:11
Subject: Newby detachment question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
UK
|
When a battalion is nestled within a second battalion then the units get the benefits from both.
You don't often see this as many of those nestled within battalions tend to go way over the 2K point value. Eg Daughters of Khaine have one and it easily goes well over 5K points to field (even with all units at their minimum unit size)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/06 03:56:11
Subject: Re:Newby detachment question
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
The 'Squigalanche' battalion (which requires a 'Squig Rider Stampede' battalion) is an example of one you're likely to see in a 2,000 point game.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/06 15:53:10
Subject: Newby detachment question
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Does anyone ever use those huge formations? Is there an equivalent of Apocalypse in AoS or does GW just assume that people play large point games?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/06 16:11:00
Subject: Newby detachment question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
UK
|
Leo_the_Rat wrote:Does anyone ever use those huge formations? Is there an equivalent of Apocalypse in AoS or does GW just assume that people play large point games?
AoS hasn't got an " apoc" rules version as yet; however nothing stops people using them save for the size of their own collection and their local gaming club. It's just that most games tend to be in the 2K bracket. You imght push up to 3K for some, but otherwise going into 5K is rarer.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/06 16:51:58
Subject: Newby detachment question
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
A side question- If a detachment calls for a unit and there is a specific character that has the same keywords can you substitute the character for the general unit? For example can I use Volturnos as part of the royal council detachment or must I use the Akhellion King model to fulfill the required slot?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/06 17:56:24
Subject: Newby detachment question
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
|
I also have a question about the big formations. Can units double dip?
If the squigalanche calls for a Loonboss on Mangler squig, and the Squig hopper stampede also asks for a Loonboss on mangler squig. Can I take one to fill both requirements?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/07 01:49:07
Subject: Newby detachment question
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
A unit can not normally be in two detachments at the same time. That's why I asked my question. If your unit is in a detachment and that detachment is folded into another detachment then you get both abilities. But , 1 unit can't be part of 2 different detachments.
At least that's my understanding of the rules based on the above answers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/07 09:15:56
Subject: Newby detachment question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
UK
|
Leo_the_Rat wrote:A side question- If a detachment calls for a unit and there is a specific character that has the same keywords can you substitute the character for the general unit? For example can I use Volturnos as part of the royal council detachment or must I use the Akhellion King model to fulfill the required slot?
Battalion content is based on keywords, so as long as you've got the right keywords in the warscroll you can use them.
balmong7 wrote:I also have a question about the big formations. Can units double dip?
If the squigalanche calls for a Loonboss on Mangler squig, and the Squig hopper stampede also asks for a Loonboss on mangler squig. Can I take one to fill both requirements?
As noted above you cannot have the same model in more than one battalion.
A battalion can form part of another battalion and thus the models within get two bonuses; but far as I'm aware of all the battletomes, this is the only time it would happen.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/07 11:22:45
Subject: Newby detachment question
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
|
Overread wrote:
balmong7 wrote:I also have a question about the big formations. Can units double dip?
If the squigalanche calls for a Loonboss on Mangler squig, and the Squig hopper stampede also asks for a Loonboss on mangler squig. Can I take one to fill both requirements?
As noted above you cannot have the same model in more than one battalion.
A battalion can form part of another battalion and thus the models within get two bonuses; but far as I'm aware of all the battletomes, this is the only time it would happen.
That's the case with the squigalanche. The squig hopper stampede is a requirement to make it a squigalanche. So the Mangler squig would be a legal choice to fill both at once?
Of course it's an edge case so GW never bothered to make it clear how it works. lol
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/07 11:30:00
Subject: Newby detachment question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
UK
|
Does the Tome state:
Squigalanche requires Squighopper Stampede with Mangler squig
or
Squigalanace requires Squighopper Stepede and Mangler Squig
In the former the mangler is part of the stampede battalion, in the latter its a separate mangler.
without the actual written out words from the Tome its hard to tell which it should be.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/07 13:01:31
Subject: Newby detachment question
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Thanks for the response.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/07 15:49:01
Subject: Newby detachment question
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Overread wrote:Does the Tome state:
Squigalanche requires Squighopper Stampede with Mangler squig
or
Squigalanace requires Squighopper Stepede and Mangler Squig
In the former the mangler is part of the stampede battalion, in the latter its a separate mangler.
without the actual written out words from the Tome its hard to tell which it should be.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
|