Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/29 16:59:01
Subject: Leadership when embarked
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
If I use say a psychic ability against a rhino or a transport etc that contains models in it such as a captain with a higher leadership, and the psychic ability plays off of leadership, for example telepathic assault from ultramarines codex or psychic scourge from codex space marines ... is the opponent allowed to use the highest leadership since the unit embarked within has a higher leadership than the transport (rhino etc) that is the target of the attack ?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/29 17:13:31
Subject: Re:Leadership when embarked
|
 |
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
Units embarked in transports cannot affect or be affected by abilities as normal, unless otherwise specified.
Unless the psychic power in question specifically allows the embarked unit's leadership to be used, or the unit embarked in the transport is specifically allowed to use his leadership while embarked, the leadership value of the unit embarked cannot be used.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/29 17:16:19
Subject: Re:Leadership when embarked
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
From 'Transports' page 183 of the main rulebook:
Embarked units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any way whilst they are embarked. Unless specifically stated, abilities that affect other units within a certain range have no effect whilst the unit that has the ability is embarked.
Just because the model is embarked on the vehicle does not allow him to affect the vehicle.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/30 01:04:58
Subject: Leadership when embarked
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Thanks I was pretty sure ... could it possibly be spill over from a previous edition ?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/30 02:51:24
Subject: Leadership when embarked
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Vizzin72 wrote:Thanks I was pretty sure ... could it possibly be spill over from a previous edition ?
Probably, some editions had the embarked unit be able to secure objectives etc...
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/30 03:10:33
Subject: Leadership when embarked
|
 |
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
Vizzin72 wrote:Thanks I was pretty sure ... could it possibly be spill over from a previous edition ?
Bubbles used to extend from the hull of the transport if the source was embarked in it in past editions.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/30 20:54:12
Subject: Leadership when embarked
|
 |
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers
|
What about open topped vehicles? I'm pretty sure I've seen HQs give re-rolls to mortars in a Stormlord...
Not saying this was how it should be, but I want to know if it's right or wrong.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/10/30 20:54:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/30 21:03:54
Subject: Leadership when embarked
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:What about open topped vehicles? I'm pretty sure I've seen HQs give re-rolls to mortars in a Stormlord...
Not saying this was how it should be, but I want to know if it's right or wrong.
It's very much wrong. Aura's don't get granted to units inside transports by also embarked aura-givers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/10/30 21:05:23
Subject: Leadership when embarked
|
 |
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:What about open topped vehicles? I'm pretty sure I've seen HQs give re-rolls to mortars in a Stormlord...
Not saying this was how it should be, but I want to know if it's right or wrong.
There's a stratagem that allows you to issue orders while embarked on a chimera but that's about it.
Being open topped only gives you permission to attack in the shooting phase (but lets not open that can of worm here).
|
|
 |
 |
|