Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/04 18:50:58
Subject: Disembarking from transports more than 3" away
|
 |
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM
|
So i've been told that because the disembark rule doesn't say "wholly within" you could technically deploy the units further than 3" away by having them touch the 3" limit.
is that true?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/04 19:01:43
Subject: Disembarking from transports more than 3" away
|
 |
Excited Doom Diver
|
VladimirHerzog wrote:So i've been told that because the disembark rule doesn't say "wholly within" you could technically deploy the units further than 3" away by having them touch the 3" limit.
is that true?
Technically, yes, you don't need to be wholly within 3" - but you can't daisy-chain out. You can have each model touch the edge of the 3" zone, but no further than that. The 3" is measured model-by-model.
Battle Primer wrote:When a unit disembarks, set it up on the battlefield so that all of its models are within 3" of the transport and not within 1" of any enemy models – any disembarking model that cannot be set up in this way is slain.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/04 19:10:24
Subject: Disembarking from transports more than 3" away
|
 |
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM
|
Aelyn wrote: VladimirHerzog wrote:So i've been told that because the disembark rule doesn't say "wholly within" you could technically deploy the units further than 3" away by having them touch the 3" limit.
is that true?
Technically, yes, you don't need to be wholly within 3" - but you can't daisy-chain out. You can have each model touch the edge of the 3" zone, but no further than that. The 3" is measured model-by-model.
Battle Primer wrote:When a unit disembarks, set it up on the battlefield so that all of its models are within 3" of the transport and not within 1" of any enemy models – any disembarking model that cannot be set up in this way is slain.
so i could gain almost an inch when disembarking with models on 32mm bases... thats actually huge
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2021/08/04 19:52:31
Subject: Disembarking from transports more than 3" away
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
VladimirHerzog wrote:Aelyn wrote: VladimirHerzog wrote:So i've been told that because the disembark rule doesn't say "wholly within" you could technically deploy the units further than 3" away by having them touch the 3" limit. is that true?
Technically, yes, you don't need to be wholly within 3" - but you can't daisy-chain out. You can have each model touch the edge of the 3" zone, but no further than that. The 3" is measured model-by-model. Battle Primer wrote:When a unit disembarks, set it up on the battlefield so that all of its models are within 3" of the transport and not within 1" of any enemy models – any disembarking model that cannot be set up in this way is slain.
so i could gain almost an inch when disembarking with models on 32mm bases... thats actually huge
That is how it's always been, IIRC (although it used to be within 2" and from access points) From the 4th edition BRB: It's also the reason GW had to errata the BRB missions to say that you had to deploy your units "wholly within" your deployment zone. Originally it said "within", so you could have 1 Conscript touching your deployment zone and the other 49 daisy chained to the moon and back.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/04 19:56:32
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/04 20:18:57
Subject: Disembarking from transports more than 3" away
|
 |
Ultramarine Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
Everything that has been said here is correct.
Not to confuse maters, but since we're on the topic you can also disembark from transports that are completely surrounded so long as you can still stay more than 1" away from enemy models.
This is because...
1. Transports no longer have access points. This means that there is no prescribed path of movement from a point of origin.
2. The Disembarkation rule uses the terminology "Set up" with defined restrictions. This means that as long as you meat the criteria of "Within 3" of the transport" and "More than 1" away from enemy models" you can still get out. Effectively you could have a SM Rhino (or similar) completely surrounded by enemy models on 25mm bases and (for this example) so long as they're all in base contact with the Rhino you can "set up" your SM Tactical Squad models beyond those enemy models surrounding the Rhino. Kind of like leap-frogging over them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/04 21:17:40
Subject: Disembarking from transports more than 3" away
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
If you can disembark more than 1" away from enemy then yes you can. but if your surrounded then i don't think you can place your models anywhere legal and thus killing your embarked units.
so yes you are true. if they have placed their models base to base on 25mm you can set up around them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/04 21:36:10
Subject: Disembarking from transports more than 3" away
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Tazberry wrote:If you can disembark more than 1" away from enemy then yes you can. but if your surrounded then i don't think you can place your models anywhere legal and thus killing your embarked units.
You're not making a move and thus don't need a path from the vehicle to where the disembaring unit is set up. The vehicle can be completely surrounded and you can still disembark
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/04 21:36:34
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/04 21:56:25
Subject: Disembarking from transports more than 3" away
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
Douglasville, GA
|
To disembark over a unit, you just need a distance of 1" from that unit. As long as the bases for the enemy models don't extend to 1.9" away from the base of the vehicle, it IS possible to leapfrog them. Of course, I doubt you'll find an opponent that'll leave more than one or two gaps like that, but it's not impossible.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/04 22:15:55
Subject: Re:Disembarking from transports more than 3" away
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Please consult this super technical and high definition image. This is a legal disembark.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/04 22:38:55
Subject: Disembarking from transports more than 3" away
|
 |
Walking Dead Wraithlord
|
More than 1" from enemies but within 3" of the transport.. Any model that cannot be set up this way count as destroyed.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/04 22:39:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/05 14:41:56
Subject: Re:Disembarking from transports more than 3" away
|
 |
Ultramarine Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
BaconCatBug wrote:Please consult this super technical and high definition image. This is a legal disembark.
This is correct. This is what I was trying to put into words. Thank you BaconCatBug.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/08 10:42:09
Subject: Disembarking from transports more than 3" away
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Note that you cannot charge after disembarking, but you can heroically intervene. So a character can "move" a hair under 12" from the transport within a single turn (disembark 3", HI 3", pile-in 3", consolidate 3").
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/08 11:02:19
Subject: Disembarking from transports more than 3" away
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Suzuteo wrote:Note that you cannot charge after disembarking, but you can heroically intervene. So a character can "move" a hair under 12" from the transport within a single turn (disembark 3", HI 3", pile-in 3", consolidate 3").
It would be a pretty convoluted situation that would allow you to heroically intervene, pile in and consolidate in anything close to a straight line. In most cases you will be lucky to end up more than 6" away.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/08 11:02:48
8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/08 12:06:11
Subject: Disembarking from transports more than 3" away
|
 |
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores
|
Suzuteo wrote:Note that you cannot charge after disembarking, but you can heroically intervene. So a character can "move" a hair under 12" from the transport within a single turn (disembark 3", HI 3", pile-in 3", consolidate 3").
You can charge after disembarking, from the core rules:
" Units that disembark can then act normally move, shoot, charge, fight, etc.) during the remainder of their turn"
|
DR:70S+G++MB+IPw40k87/f+D++A+WD087R+T(R)DM+
https://plaguegardening.wordpress.com |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/08 12:13:09
Subject: Disembarking from transports more than 3" away
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
Douglasville, GA
|
Yup. The only time you can't charge after disembarking is when your transport was destroyed during overwatch.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/08 12:59:14
Subject: Disembarking from transports more than 3" away
|
 |
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
flandarz wrote:Yup. The only time you can't charge after disembarking is when your transport was destroyed during overwatch.
No, you cant charge under any circumstances after emergency disembarkation post FAQ.
This includes blowing up your transport via overcharged plasma during your own shooting phase.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/08 13:02:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/11/08 13:07:03
Subject: Disembarking from transports more than 3" away
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
Douglasville, GA
|
Fair. I just used the most common way your Transport is gonna get blown up during your own turn.
|
|
 |
 |
|