Switch Theme:

Dreadnought Destruction  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Hey guys, I wasn't sure if I had missed something somewhere, and a search turned up nothing, so just to be sure: when a Stormraven that is carrying a dreadnought is destroyed, and you roll a 1 for the embarked passenger, the dreadnought is destroyed, yes?

Similarly, if the Stormraven is carrying 5 models and a dreadnought, do you roll 6 dice and then choose who to apply the 1's to? Or do you roll for each model individually?

My interpretation of the two rules is 1) yes, the dreadnought is destroyed (unless I missed a FAQ) and 2) you disembark all units in the Stormraven, and then roll a dice for each model you disembarked, then choose which models the 1's apply to (obviously, you wouldn't choose your dreadnought).


WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

Correct for both.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 puma713 wrote:
Hey guys, I wasn't sure if I had missed something somewhere, and a search turned up nothing, so just to be sure: when a Stormraven that is carrying a dreadnought is destroyed, and you roll a 1 for the embarked passenger, the dreadnought is destroyed, yes?

Similarly, if the Stormraven is carrying 5 models and a dreadnought, do you roll 6 dice and then choose who to apply the 1's to? Or do you roll for each model individually?

My interpretation of the two rules is 1) yes, the dreadnought is destroyed (unless I missed a FAQ) and 2) you disembark all units in the Stormraven, and then roll a dice for each model you disembarked, then choose which models the 1's apply to (obviously, you wouldn't choose your dreadnought).

The dice you roll for an "emergency disembark" are not tied to the model you are rolling for. You roll a dice for every model that disembarked and for every 1 a model of your choice is slain.

For example, a Stormraven with 5 Scouts and a Dreadnought is destroyed. The models then disembark, with any models unable to fit due to enemy models being slain. Let's say one of the Scouts can't fit, so it is slain outright. You now roll five dice, one for each surviving model. You roll four 6's and a 1. One of the five remaining models "(your choice)" is now slain. You can choose to make it the Dreadnought if you really want but I don't see anything beyond the most niche of situations where you would want to do so. If you rolled five 1's then all models would be slain, including the Dreadnought.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2019/11/16 00:31:26


 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Thought so - thanks guys.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





 puma713 wrote:
2) you disembark all units in the Stormraven, and then roll a dice for each model you disembarked, then choose which models the 1's apply to (obviously, you wouldn't choose your dreadnought).



I would think you would roll for each squad separately. So you roll 5 at a time then resolve then a additional one for the dreadnought. Similar to how aoe works each unit would be affected and rolled for individually.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/18 21:04:58


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






TheBoy wrote:
 puma713 wrote:
2) you disembark all units in the Stormraven, and then roll a dice for each model you disembarked, then choose which models the 1's apply to (obviously, you wouldn't choose your dreadnought).



I would think you would roll for each squad separately. So you roll 5 at a time then resolve then a additional one for the dreadnought. Similar to how aoe works each unit would be affected and rolled for individually.
This is incorrect. Please reread the rules for Transports. BRB, Page 183, "Transports" boxout, "Embark" subsection, third paragraph.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2019/11/18 21:21:37


 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 BaconCatBug wrote:
TheBoy wrote:
 puma713 wrote:
2) you disembark all units in the Stormraven, and then roll a dice for each model you disembarked, then choose which models the 1's apply to (obviously, you wouldn't choose your dreadnought).



I would think you would roll for each squad separately. So you roll 5 at a time then resolve then a additional one for the dreadnought. Similar to how aoe works each unit would be affected and rolled for individually.

This is incorrect. Please reread the rules for Transports. BRB, Page 183, "Transports" boxout, "Embark" subsection, third paragraph.

Also verified on page 11 of the Main Rulebook FAQ:

3. Roll a number of D6 equal to the number of models disembarked in this fashion.

4. Each result of a 1 yields a slain model, and must be allocated to one of the models which disembarked; the controlling player may choose which model.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





It says a unit disembarks. Multiple units simultaneously disembark meaning the players whose turn it is would pick the order of simultaneous rule triggers. You would then disembark unit one. It's rules would trigger then unit two would activate it's rule triggers. And so on. Units disembark not models. Models are in units. Because a unit triggers before the other you would roll separately.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






TheBoy wrote:
It says a unit disembarks. Multiple units simultaneously disembark meaning the players whose turn it is would pick the order of simultaneous rule triggers. You would then disembark unit one. It's rules would trigger then unit two would activate it's rule triggers. And so on. Units disembark not models. Models are in units. Because a unit triggers before the other you would roll separately.
Please read the rule and FAQ.

Firstly, the rule proves you wrong, you only roll after all units have disembarked. Even IF the rule proved you right, the FAQ overrides RaW and proves you wrong.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/18 23:30:05


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

You roll as many dice as there are models that emergency disembarked from the transport, irrespective of what units they’re in.

You then remove a model of your choice for each 1.

It’s why I pop a cheap Troops unit in my Stormraven alongside my Veterans and Relic Contemptor Dreadnought, so that cheap dudes die not expensive ones... unless I roll *horribly*.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: