Switch Theme:

Miasma of Pestilence Spam  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut





Let's say I have a Nurgle sorcerer, can they cast Miasma of Pestilence on Mortarion? It works on Nurgle Daemons but Mortarion doesn't have the Faction "Daemon", it's only under "Keywords". Or does that matter?

And then could Mortarion cast the Contagion version of Miasma on himself for -2 to hit? Thanks.
   
Made in se
Regular Dakkanaut




First. Yes

Second. No

Faction keyword is for making the list and use of stratagems.
All powers with the same name is counted as the same power even if it’s does different things.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

From the chaos daemon FAQ :

Q: For the purposes of the Psychic Focus matched play rule,
is the Miasma of Pestilence psychic power from Codex:
Chaos Daemons the same psychic power as in Codex:
Death Guard?
A: Yes. More generally, if psychic powers have the same
name, they are the same psychic power for the purposes
of Psychic Focus.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

As noted, Miasma is the same power regardless of discipline.

Faction keywords get tricky, kind of.
For example:

I could build a battalion with a Death Guard DP, Poxbringer, 3x 3 Nurlglings.
They all share the NURGLE faction keyword, but as only the DP has DEATH GUARD, the detachment does not unlock DG Strats. Nor would I get any DAEMON strat because the DP does not have the DAEMON Faction keyword

But once the game starts, rules and abilities don't care about Faction keywords, just keywords in general. So my Poxbringer can cast Miasma on the DG DP.
And to add one more layer, If I select the DG DP s my WL, I DO get access to DG Traits and Relics, even though I do not technically have a DG detachment. Only having a DG WL matters for those

-

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/11/18 15:13:39


   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: