Switch Theme:

Banner of Rage - no time limit?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






One of the new relics in the Fire & Fury book reads:

Once per battle, at the start of the Fight phase, a model with this Relic can unfurl the Banner of Rage. If they do, add 1 to the Attacks characteristic of models in friendly WORLD EATERS units while their unit is within 6" of that model.

Am I reading this right that there is no time limit to this ability?

It doesn't feel right - why have the need to trigger the ability at all if there is no drawback to triggering it on the first turn?
   
Made in se
Regular Dakkanaut




It seems to be true.
No drawback? You have to give the relic to a priest first of all, then you have to take it for your relic or pay cp for more relics just to get it. IMO we have better relics.
   
Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

Tazberry wrote:
It seems to be true.
No drawback? You have to give the relic to a priest first of all, then you have to take it for your relic or pay cp for more relics just to get it. IMO we have better relics.

What he meant is that there's no reason to not immediately unfurl it as it Lasts for the rest of the battle, RAW.
They could've just made it permanent instead of unfurling it at the start of the very first fight phase.

This is most likely an oversight and meant to work only for that fight phase, so you should expect it to be changed via errata
   
Made in ch
The Dread Evil Lord Varlak





Probably just fluff rule that you HAVE to unfurl it.

https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/766717.page
A Mostly Renegades and Heretics blog.
GW:"Space marines got too many options to balance, therefore we decided to legends HH units."
Players: "why?!? Now we finally got decent plastic kits and you cut them?"
Chaos marines players: "Since when are Daemonengines 30k models and why do i have NO droppods now?"
GW" MONEY.... erm i meant TOO MANY OPTIONS (to resell your army to you again by disalowing former units)! Do you want specific tyranid fighiting Primaris? Even a new sabotage lieutnant!"
Chaos players: Guess i stop playing or go to HH.  
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

RAW, it works until the end of the battle, and its highly likely not intended that way.
   
Made in ch
The Dread Evil Lord Varlak





 p5freak wrote:
RAW, it works until the end of the battle, and its highly likely not intended that way.


considering all other banners and this one beeing only a mild buff aswell, that is a funny assestment of RAI

https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/766717.page
A Mostly Renegades and Heretics blog.
GW:"Space marines got too many options to balance, therefore we decided to legends HH units."
Players: "why?!? Now we finally got decent plastic kits and you cut them?"
Chaos marines players: "Since when are Daemonengines 30k models and why do i have NO droppods now?"
GW" MONEY.... erm i meant TOO MANY OPTIONS (to resell your army to you again by disalowing former units)! Do you want specific tyranid fighiting Primaris? Even a new sabotage lieutnant!"
Chaos players: Guess i stop playing or go to HH.  
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





Not Online!!! wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
RAW, it works until the end of the battle, and its highly likely not intended that way.


considering all other banners and this one beeing only a mild buff aswell, that is a funny assestment of RAI

the fact that you need to activate it, can only activate it once and has no down side to activating, suggest there should be a phase/turn limit

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/11/29 11:13:21


 
   
Made in se
Regular Dakkanaut




It’s actually good that’s it at the start of any fight phase. If you got 2-3 units of zerkers, you probably would want to use it on a unit that has not taken any damage or have the best position.

Word Bearers do also last the whole battle but emperors children does only last until end of battle round.

We have to wait and see for the FAQ but it might be intentional by GW as world eaters do not see much play.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

terry wrote:
Not Online!!! wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
RAW, it works until the end of the battle, and its highly likely not intended that way.


considering all other banners and this one beeing only a mild buff aswell, that is a funny assestment of RAI

the fact that you need to activate it, can only activate it once and has no down side to activating, suggest there should be a phase/turn limit



Agreed. Usually anything that needs activation, and can only be used once, has a time limit.
   
Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

 p5freak wrote:
terry wrote:
Not Online!!! wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
RAW, it works until the end of the battle, and its highly likely not intended that way.


considering all other banners and this one beeing only a mild buff aswell, that is a funny assestment of RAI

the fact that you need to activate it, can only activate it once and has no down side to activating, suggest there should be a phase/turn limit


Agreed. Usually anything that needs activation, and can only be used once, has a time limit

Exactly. And effects that are meant to last until the end of the entire battle usually state that specifically.
.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/11/29 14:23:52


 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Relic of lost Cadia had the exact same issue.

RAI I am convinced this lasts for one turn. Obviously for your own games or events you'll need to clarify with the opponent/organiser how you'll run it.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Not much debate just a lot of miss-reading. It says "If they do..." pertaining to Unfurling the banner.
So the banner doesn't just give a bonus. They get a bonus when the banner is unfurled. The bonus is directly connected to the unfurling of the banner, not the presence of the banner.
So it only works for 1 turn, and once per game.
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Wagguy80 wrote:
Not much debate just a lot of miss-reading. It says "If they do..." pertaining to Unfurling the banner.
So the banner doesn't just give a bonus. They get a bonus when the banner is unfurled. The bonus is directly connected to the unfurling of the banner, not the presence of the banner.
So it only works for 1 turn, and once per game.

At what point in the turn does the effect stop? End of the fight phase? As soon as the banner stops unfurling? As soon as one player sneezes?

Fact is that, by RAW, a unit just needs to be within 6" of the bearer to get a bonus after is has been unfurled. There is no time limit.

The sad thing is that even with this technicality, it's one of the weaker banner options out there.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Cheexsta wrote:
Wagguy80 wrote:
Not much debate just a lot of miss-reading. It says "If they do..." pertaining to Unfurling the banner.
So the banner doesn't just give a bonus. They get a bonus when the banner is unfurled. The bonus is directly connected to the unfurling of the banner, not the presence of the banner.
So it only works for 1 turn, and once per game.

At what point in the turn does the effect stop? End of the fight phase? As soon as the banner stops unfurling? As soon as one player sneezes?

Fact is that, by RAW, a unit just needs to be within 6" of the bearer to get a bonus after is has been unfurled. There is no time limit.

The sad thing is that even with this technicality, it's one of the weaker banner options out there.
Correct. Once it's unfurled the effect doesn't end. Most likely GW being GW and leaving their proofreading to tuberculosis riddled badgers and will be fixed like the Cadian relic was.

Until then, have fun with it!
   
Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





Strange that they'd mess this up. Harlie have the midnight's chime, and that specifies until end of turn... It does practically the same thing... Why not copy and paste if the intent was one turn... Strange.

As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.

RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW.
 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






 Type40 wrote:
Strange that they'd mess this up. Harlie have the midnight's chime, and that specifies until end of turn... It does practically the same thing... Why not copy and paste if the intent was one turn... Strange.

Simple human error, designer probably forgot (or didn't know) that such an item existed and worked how they might have wanted it.

Or, if you're BCB, it's because literally everyone at GW is incompetent and shouldn't be allowed within 100 yards of a pen.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Seems an obvious oversight that will get patched.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Just to close this off, GW has addressed this in the FAQ.

https://www.warhammer-community.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/01/b708da79.pdf

The Banner of Rage only works for a single phase now.
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User





Seems pretty simple. First fight phase model unfurls banner get +1 attack. Fight phase ends. Next fight phase did the model unfurl the banner at the beginning of this fight phase no it was already unfurled so no extra attacks. The bonus only exists if they unfurled the banner at the beginning of the current fight phase.
   
Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

There was no time limit. Now there is. End of story.
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Leekensington wrote:
Seems pretty simple. First fight phase model unfurls banner get +1 attack. Fight phase ends. Next fight phase did the model unfurl the banner at the beginning of this fight phase no it was already unfurled so no extra attacks. The bonus only exists if they unfurled the banner at the beginning of the current fight phase.

Yes, that is what I said.

However, before the FAQ, this was not the case.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: