Switch Theme:

Scuttlers + Sewer Rats?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Plano, Texas

How does the 'Scout' special rule interact with the Sewer Rats strategem from Cities of Death?

Scouts always deploy on the board, even if they would normally start in reserve. Does this mean they would deploy in the deployment zone, or from the sewer markers? Would the free scout move then actually be required to move on from the actual marker?

I was thinking about this last night and was just wondering what other people thought..
   
Made in ca
Infiltrating Broodlord





Canada

I would say that Scouts overrides Sewer Rats - they'd start on the board, in your deployment zone, and get their free move.

If I was playing you, I'd allow you to hold them in reserve with Sewer Rats, and then deploy them from a sewer grate - but you'd forfeit the scout move (Scout Move occurs before the first turn - if they're not on the board, they don't get the move!).

Don't have my book - is there anything in the Scout USR that says "may"? Are scouts *always* deployed on the board regardless of reserves etc? Or is it that they always have the *option* of deploying on the board, regardless of reserves etc?

I'm pretty sure that Sewer Rats is a 'may' - you can hold some of your units back, but you don't have to hold all of them back.

No way are they getting a free move midgame when they emerge from the sewers! Nice try...


-S

2000 2000 1200
600 190 in progress

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Plano, Texas

No way are they getting a free move midgame when they emerge from the sewers! Nice try... [Smile]


That's not what I'm saying.. what I'm saying is, if Scouts makes them start on the table, and they start at the sewer markers, do they have to "use up" their free 6" move to actually deploy from the sewer marker before the game begins? If not, how far from the marker would they deploy?
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Only models in reserve may emerge from a sewer marker.

Units that deploy on the table at the start of the game (including scouts) would have to deploy in the normal deployment zone.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: