Switch Theme:

RAW - What is correct?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





Hey folks,

Question regarding Tyranid Stratagem from Blood of Baal. Here's the stratagem in question:

"Symbiotic Devastation (1CP)
Use this Stratagem at the start of your Shooting phase. Select one *Exocrine* unit from your army; until the end of that phase, that unit is treated as not having moved in your Movement phase."

My question is, say an Exocrine started the Movement phase within 1" of an enemy, and used its movement to Fall Back. When this stratagem is used, since it no longer counts as having moved, does this mean it also don't count as having fallen back, since that is itself a type of move? In effect, would this allow the Exocrine to shoot even after having fallen back?

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Yarium wrote:
Hey folks,

Question regarding Tyranid Stratagem from Blood of Baal. Here's the stratagem in question:

"Symbiotic Devastation (1CP)
Use this Stratagem at the start of your Shooting phase. Select one *Exocrine* unit from your army; until the end of that phase, that unit is treated as not having moved in your Movement phase."

My question is, say an Exocrine started the Movement phase within 1" of an enemy, and used its movement to Fall Back. When this stratagem is used, since it no longer counts as having moved, does this mean it also don't count as having fallen back, since that is itself a type of move? In effect, would this allow the Exocrine to shoot even after having fallen back?
It counts as having not moved, but it did fall back, ergo it cannot shoot.

The stratagem doesn't magically have made the Exocrine not have fallen back or not have moved, it just gets to pretend it didn't move but not pretend it didn't fall back.
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Yarium wrote:
Hey folks,

Question regarding Tyranid Stratagem from Blood of Baal. Here's the stratagem in question:

"Symbiotic Devastation (1CP)
Use this Stratagem at the start of your Shooting phase. Select one *Exocrine* unit from your army; until the end of that phase, that unit is treated as not having moved in your Movement phase."

My question is, say an Exocrine started the Movement phase within 1" of an enemy, and used its movement to Fall Back. When this stratagem is used, since it no longer counts as having moved, does this mean it also don't count as having fallen back, since that is itself a type of move? In effect, would this allow the Exocrine to shoot even after having fallen back?
It counts as having not moved, but it did fall back, ergo it cannot shoot.

The stratagem doesn't magically have made the Exocrine not have fallen back or not have moved, it just gets to pretend it didn't move but not pretend it didn't fall back.


Thanks!

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Agree with that. It still Fell Back, even if it counts as not moving. The Strat would have to call out Fall Back moves specifically to ignore them.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





It would however if the opponent charges you in his turn allow the Exocrine to fire twice in overwatch.

Doubt it's worth the CP for the stratagem, but just a thought.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wagguy80 wrote:
It would however if the opponent charges you in his turn allow the Exocrine to fire twice in overwatch.

Doubt it's worth the CP for the stratagem, but just a thought.


I don't follow, the Strategem is used at the start of your shooting phase and only lasts until the end of that phase. I might be missing something, but how can this interact with overwatch?
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Aash wrote:
Wagguy80 wrote:
It would however if the opponent charges you in his turn allow the Exocrine to fire twice in overwatch.

Doubt it's worth the CP for the stratagem, but just a thought.


I don't follow, the Strategem is used at the start of your shooting phase and only lasts until the end of that phase. I might be missing something, but how can this interact with overwatch?


You're not missing anything, it doesn't work.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: