Switch Theme:

So how does this work with Tau drones?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Lets say you hit one with a lascannon (by way of the nearby riptide) and do the rip six damage. Except, gosh, its now a mortal wound (only one???) for the tau drone. How is it not six mortal wounds?

If you do normal mortal wounds to tau drones, does each drone end the mortal wounds pile (like you smite them for 5 woudns, that should force 5 drones to save against FNP?

And if you smite the riptide (could happen) they can or can't intercept?
Obviously, quite by chance, I only ever get to hit tau in the very rare tournament as none of my friends play them, so I am always left going "how many drones do you still ... how is it .... my god."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/12/16 21:32:41


Guard gaurd gAAAARDity Gaurd gaurd.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





if Saviour protocols goes off the lascannon never did d6 wounds.

Before you roll the damage the saviour protocols roll is made, if it passes the wound is allocated to the drone. If it fails the wound stays on the original battlesuit and you roll the full damage against the battlesuit.

The wound now allocated to the drone, the saviour protocol rule tells us to convert it to a single mortal wound.

If you do mortal wounds, they become 1 Mortal wound each, and the battlesuit would have to roll a 2+ to allocate each one, each one being allocated would become a single mortal wound on a single drone.

e.g. If you did d6 mortal wounds with a smite, and rolled a 5. The battlesuit elects to saviour protocol all 5, and rolls a 1, 3,4,4,6. 1 Mortal wound stays on the battle suit, and then 4 other drones each suffer 1 mortal wound.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/12/17 01:26:05


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Well, I haven't hit a 40 drone list yet, and now, I don't ever want to. Ugh.

Guard gaurd gAAAARDity Gaurd gaurd.  
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Your best best is to try to kill the drones using small arms fire. Until the drones are gone, its not worth the effort to use heavy weapons on the riptide. It sucks to get around, but the drones are a separate unit so you can fire directly at them with bolters and such.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Drones can't intercept MWs from smite, or any other psychic power which does MWs. There is no wound roll. Same for weapons which inflict MWs.

When resolving an attack made against a <Sept>
Infantry or <Sept> Battlesuit unit whilst that unit
is within 3" of a friendly <Sept> Drones unit, if the
wound roll is successful, you can roll one D6; on a 2+
that Drones unit suffers 1 mortal wound and the attack
sequence ends.’


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/12/17 08:28:28


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





 p5freak wrote:
. . . Same for weapons which inflict MWs. . . . .



The Tau FAQ explicitly states that Savior Protocols intercept MWs caused by weapon attacks.

Q: If an attack inflicts mortal wounds on the target, and the attack is subsequently allocated to a Drones unit as a result of the Saviour Protocols ability, what happens to those mortal wounds inflicted?
A: They are cancelled. All damage and mortal wounds inflicted as the result of that attack is reduced to the mortal wound inflicted by the Saviour Protocols ability on that Drones unit.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





If weapons are doing mw, does that mean riptides count as vehicle keyworded? Do drones?

Guard gaurd gAAAARDity Gaurd gaurd.  
   
Made in us
Slaanesh Veteran Marine with Tentacles






Greywing wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
. . . Same for weapons which inflict MWs. . . . .



The Tau FAQ explicitly states that Savior Protocols intercept MWs caused by weapon attacks.

Q: If an attack inflicts mortal wounds on the target, and the attack is subsequently allocated to a Drones unit as a result of the Saviour Protocols ability, what happens to those mortal wounds inflicted?
A: They are cancelled. All damage and mortal wounds inflicted as the result of that attack is reduced to the mortal wound inflicted by the Saviour Protocols ability on that Drones unit.

Not quite the same thing. Those mortal wounds are in reference to things like sniper shots which inflict mortals on wound rolls of 6+ etc. Later it references weapons that do mortal wounds on the hit here:
Spoiler:
Q: If an attack inflicts mortal wounds on a unit as a result of a hit roll, and the attack sequence ends before it successfully wounds the target (e.g. the Hellfire Shells Stratagem or an attack made with a shokk attack gun with a Strength characteristic of 11+ that fails to wound the target), can I allocate the mortal wounds to a Drones unit with the Saviour Protocols ability?A: No. As the attack sequence has ended before the target has been wounded, there is no wound to allocate to the Drones unit. Therefore the target suffers the mortal wounds as normal.


The order is hits->wounds->SP->Armor/Invuln Saves. So anything that isn't passed to the drones is made against the armor/inuln of the suit. The drones always take 1 MW for every 1 shot they intercept. Doesn't matter if its D1 or D100 it's still only 1 MW. Even if its a a sniper shot doing 1MW + 1D because of a wound of 6+ it still only generates a single MW. Which it makes a 5+FNP against. High Strength, High RoF is ideally the way to go if you want to kill the drones off faster. Butcher cannons are probably the ideal profile for forcing SP rolls.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Greywing wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
. . . Same for weapons which inflict MWs. . . . .



The Tau FAQ explicitly states that Savior Protocols intercept MWs caused by weapon attacks.

Q: If an attack inflicts mortal wounds on the target, and the attack is subsequently allocated to a Drones unit as a result of the Saviour Protocols ability, what happens to those mortal wounds inflicted?
A: They are cancelled. All damage and mortal wounds inflicted as the result of that attack is reduced to the mortal wound inflicted by the Saviour Protocols ability on that Drones unit.


You never get to allocate an attack which inflicts MW on a tau unit to a drone with SP. The most important part about SP is the part where it says : "...if the wound roll is successful,....". When there is no wound roll SP cant be used. Weapons which inflict MWs dont make a wound roll, like soulburner petards. No wound roll, no SP. Psychic powers which inflict MWs dont make a wound roll, no SP. To me those arent even an attack (not in the sense of the rules, an attack is with a ranged or close combat weapon), but others will disagree.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Don't some things like the haywire inflict a MW only on a certain to wound score? Taht seems like the intended effect of the faq statement.

Guard gaurd gAAAARDity Gaurd gaurd.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





per the BRB, you "allocate mortal wounds as you would any other wound.."

Which is why every major tournament allows SP to work on MW.

Allocating a wound requires a successful to wound roll. If you allocate a wound on a successful wound roll, and a mortal wound is allocated as any other wound, then most people consider it to be counted as successfulywounding the the target. The allocate wound step doesn't actually require a roll, just that the target is sucessfuly wounded.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/12/18 06:59:21


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

blaktoof wrote:
per the BRB, you "allocate mortal wounds as you would any other wound.."

Which is why every major tournament allows SP to work on MW.

Allocating a wound requires a successful to wound roll. If you allocate a wound on a successful wound roll, and a mortal wound is allocated as any other wound, then most people consider it to be counted as successfulywounding the the target. The allocate wound step doesn't actually require a roll, just that the target is sucessfuly wounded.


If major tournaments allow it, its a house rule. RAW, MWs cant be intercepted by SP, there is no wound roll, which is a requirement to use SP.
   
Made in us
Slaanesh Veteran Marine with Tentacles






blaktoof wrote:
per the BRB, you "allocate mortal wounds as you would any other wound.."

Which is why every major tournament allows SP to work on MW.

Allocating a wound requires a successful to wound roll. If you allocate a wound on a successful wound roll, and a mortal wound is allocated as any other wound, then most people consider it to be counted as successfulywounding the the target. The allocate wound step doesn't actually require a roll, just that the target is sucessfuly wounded.

This is no longer true. I linked the FAQ rule explaining exactly why that isn't true for SP. Expand the spoiler part.
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine



Manchester, UK

blaktoof wrote:
per the BRB, you "allocate mortal wounds as you would any other wound.."

Which is why every major tournament allows SP to work on MW.

Allocating a wound requires a successful to wound roll. If you allocate a wound on a successful wound roll, and a mortal wound is allocated as any other wound, then most people consider it to be counted as successfulywounding the the target. The allocate wound step doesn't actually require a roll, just that the target is sucessfuly wounded.


The FAQ Overrides BRB and the FAQ states that if a wound roll isn't made then SP cannot intercept. An actual wound roll has to be made for SP to work.
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

Dukeofstuff wrote:
If weapons are doing mw, does that mean riptides count as vehicle keyworded? Do drones?


Obviously... no.
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre





Cobleskill

Erm, I was under the impression that psychic powers aren't attacks, and as such are not legal targets for Saviour Protocols?

'No plan survives contact with the enemy. Who are we?'
'THE ENEMY!!!'
Racerguy180 wrote:
rules come and go, models are forever...like herpes.
 
   
Made in us
Norn Queen






Dukeofstuff wrote:
Lets say you hit one with a lascannon (by way of the nearby riptide) and do the rip six damage. Except, gosh, its now a mortal wound (only one???) for the tau drone. How is it not six mortal wounds?

If you do normal mortal wounds to tau drones, does each drone end the mortal wounds pile (like you smite them for 5 woudns, that should force 5 drones to save against FNP?

And if you smite the riptide (could happen) they can or can't intercept?
Obviously, quite by chance, I only ever get to hit tau in the very rare tournament as none of my friends play them, so I am always left going "how many drones do you still ... how is it .... my god."


Damage is not wounds. 1 wound could deal 6 damage. All 6 damage can be negated by a single successful save. The drone converting the wound into a mortal wound doesnt magically turn the single wound into 6. Its just 1 would that deals 1 damage that cannot be saved.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Also. MWs automatically wound. Which means they automatically pass the wounds roll in the same way that a flamer auto hits. Just because you didnt roll the dice doesn't mean the too wound step was skipped. It just automatically passed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/12/23 03:31:45



These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

carldooley wrote:Erm, I was under the impression that psychic powers aren't attacks, and as such are not legal targets for Saviour Protocols?


Yes, thats right. Smite (or any other psychic power) which inflicts MW is not an attack, its a psychic power. Also, MW dont roll to wound. Both are requirements for SP.

Lance845 wrote:
Also. MWs automatically wound. Which means they automatically pass the wounds roll in the same way that a flamer auto hits. Just because you didnt roll the dice doesn't mean the too wound step was skipped. It just automatically passed.


No. This FAQ proves you wrong. A successful wound roll is required for SP. MW dont auto wound.

Q: If an attack inflicts mortal wounds on a unit as a result of a hit roll, and the attack sequence ends before it successfully wounds the target (e.g. the Hellfire Shells Stratagem or an attack made with a shokk attack gun with a Strength characteristic of 11+ that fails to wound the target), can I allocate the mortal wounds to a Drones unit with the Saviour Protocols ability?A: No. As the attack sequence has ended before the target has been wounded, there is no wound to allocate to the Drones unit. Therefore the target suffers the mortal wounds as normal.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: