Switch Theme:

Another "Honor the Chapter" question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Honor the Chapter says that a SM unit that is still in melee "at the end of the fight phase" can fight a second time. If I use HtC to fight, wipe out my target, and then consolidate into a new unit, does that unit get to make attacks as normal after a Consolidate move, or does "end of the fight phase" override that?

I would argue that since it says "at the end of the fight phase" (ie after all eligible models have fought) the fight phase isn't actually over and if new models enter melee range as a result then the fight phase would continue, but it's sadly ambiguous.


   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

From BRB update 1.4 (1.6 is the current version). This has already been answered a long time ago.


Q: When using an ability or Stratagem at the end of the Fight
phase to immediately fight again (e.g. Fury of Khorne) and the
selected unit moves within 1" of an enemy unit that has not yet
fought this phase, after fighting with the unit selected, can that
enemy unit now fight even though it’s the end of the Fight phase?
A: Yes.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/12/17 04:09:29


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





That would be lovely if Dakka's search tool wasn't apparently non-functional. It gives me "no results found" no matter what I put into the bar.

   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

I meant answered in the FAQs. Always check there first.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

The Newman wrote:
Honor the Chapter says that a SM unit that is still in melee "at the end of the fight phase" can fight a second time. If I use HtC to fight, wipe out my target, and then consolidate into a new unit, does that unit get to make attacks as normal after a Consolidate move, or does "end of the fight phase" override that?

I would argue that since it says "at the end of the fight phase" (ie after all eligible models have fought) the fight phase isn't actually over and if new models enter melee range as a result then the fight phase would continue, but it's sadly ambiguous.

You can not attack a unit you did not charge, or one that you were not within 1" of at the start of the fight phase.

So you can not make attacks against a unit that you consolidate into.

Edit (For clarification):

Your unit can not make attacks, the unit you consolidated into does get to make attacks on your unit though.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/12/17 08:13:31


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 DeathReaper wrote:
The Newman wrote:
Honor the Chapter says that a SM unit that is still in melee "at the end of the fight phase" can fight a second time. If I use HtC to fight, wipe out my target, and then consolidate into a new unit, does that unit get to make attacks as normal after a Consolidate move, or does "end of the fight phase" override that?

I would argue that since it says "at the end of the fight phase" (ie after all eligible models have fought) the fight phase isn't actually over and if new models enter melee range as a result then the fight phase would continue, but it's sadly ambiguous.

You can not attack a unit you did not charge, or one that you were not within 1" of at the start of the fight phase.

So you can not make attacks against a unit that you consolidate into.

Edit (For clarification):

Your unit can not make attacks, the unit you consolidated into does get to make attacks on your unit though.


Point of info: That first line isn’t correct. There’s no “at the start of the Fight Phase” check for within 1”. You just check for within 1” when activating a unit, else units consolidated into wouldn’t get to fight back... and they do.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 JohnnyHell wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
The Newman wrote:
Honor the Chapter says that a SM unit that is still in melee "at the end of the fight phase" can fight a second time. If I use HtC to fight, wipe out my target, and then consolidate into a new unit, does that unit get to make attacks as normal after a Consolidate move, or does "end of the fight phase" override that?

I would argue that since it says "at the end of the fight phase" (ie after all eligible models have fought) the fight phase isn't actually over and if new models enter melee range as a result then the fight phase would continue, but it's sadly ambiguous.

You can not attack a unit you did not charge, or one that you were not within 1" of at the start of the fight phase.

So you can not make attacks against a unit that you consolidate into.

Edit (For clarification):

Your unit can not make attacks, the unit you consolidated into does get to make attacks on your unit though.


Point of info: That first line isn’t correct. There’s no “at the start of the Fight Phase” check for within 1”. You just check for within 1” when activating a unit, else units consolidated into wouldn’t get to fight back... and they do.


By "within 1" of at the start of the fight phase" I meant for that particular unit. Sorry if that was unclear.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

That’s still incorrect. Units can be chosen to fight (subject to Charge restrictions) if there’s a unit that is within 1”, whether that is because the unit began the Fight Phase within 1” or moved to within 1” later. No “start of Fight Phase” condition, and separate units don’t have separate Fight Phases.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 JohnnyHell wrote:
That’s still incorrect. Units can be chosen to fight (subject to Charge restrictions) if there’s a unit that is within 1”, whether that is because the unit began the Fight Phase within 1” or moved to within 1” later. No “start of Fight Phase” condition, and separate units don’t have separate Fight Phases.
Again you misunderstand what I meant when I said "at the start of the fight phase". Basically I meant when they are chosen to fight.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Thanks for the additional attempts to help, but p5freak pointed me right at the answer I was looking for. My phone isn't great at searching through a .pdf and I was looking for the wrong term anyway, and searching for "honor the chapter" or even just "honor" on this forum found nothing even though I could see a thread with "honor the chapter" in the title.

The specific question was whether my opponent's unit could still fight if I consolidated into it as part of resolving HtC, I thought they could and he thought Marines were even more broken than they actually are.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: