Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/12/26 12:42:06
Subject: Remnants of the Maraviglia and Transports
|
 |
Warp-Screaming Noise Marine
|
I know that Dark Apostles cannot use their prayers while they are inside of a transport but I was wondering if I could use the Relic the Remnants of the Maraviglia while inside of a transport? The rule states that "instead of chanting a prayer, a model with this Relic can broadcast the Remnants of the Maraviglia." From my understanding you can't chant prayers inside a transport but this is not a prayer it's a relic that just has to be activated instead of rolling a dice.
|
"Decadence Unbound..."
10,000+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/12/26 12:57:18
Subject: Remnants of the Maraviglia and Transports
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Nothing works unless the model is on the board unless stated otherwise. Auras, items and abilities don’t work.
Only thing you can do is shoot from Open topped. But auras/banners/prayers/spells/items don’t.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/12/26 12:58:06
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/12/26 13:21:52
Subject: Remnants of the Maraviglia and Transports
|
 |
Warp-Screaming Noise Marine
|
Lifeistorment wrote:Nothing works unless the model is on the board unless stated otherwise. Auras, items and abilities don’t work.
Only thing you can do is shoot from Open topped. But auras/banners/prayers/spells/items don’t.
I know that the aura from the relic would not work inside the transport, I just want to know If I can activate the relic so I can use the aura ability when the Dark Apostle disembarks from my Storm Eagle.
|
"Decadence Unbound..."
10,000+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/12/26 13:28:54
Subject: Remnants of the Maraviglia and Transports
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
The general rule is If you’re not on the board you can’t use any of your abilities or items unless otherwise stated.
Such as the assassin that makes stratagems cost more, that states that it still works while in deep strike.
the relic lets use it instead of using the prayer, if you are in the transport the trigger to use a prayer isn’t met so you can’t use the relic instead.
If you are in the transport, none of your rules work.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/12/26 13:32:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/12/26 20:41:37
Subject: Remnants of the Maraviglia and Transports
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Models that are not on the battlefield cannot do anything unless the rule explicitly allows it. The rules are permissive, they state what you can do. "It doesn't say I can't" is not a valid argument.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/12/28 07:01:07
Subject: Remnants of the Maraviglia and Transports
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Vancouver
|
BaconCatBug wrote:Models that are not on the battlefield cannot do anything unless the rule explicitly allows it. The rules are permissive, they state what you can do. "It doesn't say I can't" is not a valid argument.
"There no rule that says a dog can't play 40k!"
By the way, does an aura rule that effects shooting not even apply to other units on the same open-topped transport as the unit generating the aura?
|
***Bring back Battlefleet Gothic***
Nurgle may own my soul, but Slaanesh has my heart <3 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/12/28 07:43:47
Subject: Remnants of the Maraviglia and Transports
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nataliereed1984 wrote: BaconCatBug wrote:Models that are not on the battlefield cannot do anything unless the rule explicitly allows it. The rules are permissive, they state what you can do. "It doesn't say I can't" is not a valid argument.
"There no rule that says a dog can't play 40k!"
By the way, does an aura rule that effects shooting not even apply to other units on the same open-topped transport as the unit generating the aura?
See the rule in the transports block (Primer PDF, page 9):
Embarked units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any way whilst they are embarked. Unless specifically stated, abilities that affect other units within a certain range have no effect whilst the unit that has the ability is embarked.
Then get out the rules for your open topped transport to see if it says otherwise. Because that's the "No dogs allowed" rule.
|
|
 |
 |
|