Switch Theme:

Must I cast?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ru
Fresh-Faced New User





Hello guys,

My question is: if I have a psyker, let's say a Wierdboy, and it is my Psychic Phase now, and my Wierdboy has, say, Da Jump psychic power, _must_ I use his psychic power, or it is acceptable for me to skip this and to say that the Wierdboy is doing nothing for now? My friend says that I must use a psychic power whenever it is possible to do so, while I would prefer to have some tactical freedom in this field.

Thank you,

 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Dallas, TX

your friend is wrong, no where does the rulebook throughout the editions that say you must cast a 'spell', just like shooting, you don't have to fire in your shooting phase.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






As always when someone claims something, ask for proof. Ask them to show you where in the rulebook it says you must cast.

You don't have to cast if you don't want to.
   
Made in gb
Walking Dead Wraithlord






 RedMenaceEternal wrote:
Hello guys,

My question is: if I have a psyker, let's say a Wierdboy, and it is my Psychic Phase now, and my Wierdboy has, say, Da Jump psychic power, _must_ I use his psychic power, or it is acceptable for me to skip this and to say that the Wierdboy is doing nothing for now? My friend says that I must use a psychic power whenever it is possible to do so, while I would prefer to have some tactical freedom in this field.

Thank you,


Your friend is incorrect.
Casting powers is optional.

If you feel the risk of periling is not worth the reward you do not cast.

The data sheet should say something like "this model can cast up to xx powers I the psychic phase"

From he battle primer: 2. Make Psychic Test A psyker can attempt to manifest a psychic power they know by taking a Psychic test. To do so, roll 2D6. If the total is equal to or greater than that power’s warp charge value, the power is successfully manifested.

The operative word being "CAN" and not must.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/01/06 00:03:33


https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/772746.page#10378083 - My progress/failblog painting blog thingy

Eldar- 4436 pts


AngryAngel80 wrote:
I don't know, when I see awesome rules, I'm like " Baby, your rules looking so fine. Maybe I gotta add you to my first strike battalion eh ? "


 Eonfuzz wrote:


I would much rather everyone have a half ass than no ass.


"A warrior does not seek fame and honour. They come to him as he humbly follows his path"  
   
Made in ru
Fresh-Faced New User





Thank you guys, this is exactly how I understood the applied rule, I hope he will be convinced now

 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

BRB update 1.6
Q: If a rule says that I can do something (for example, ‘when a
Morale test is taken for this unit, you can re-roll the dice’), does
that mean I have to do that thing, or is it optional?
A: If a rule says you can do something, it is entirely up to
you to decide if you want to do that thing.


So, when you can do something, you can decide if you want to do that thing. No, its not as easy as you might think. When it comes to fighting, even if the rule says you can fight, another FAQ says you must fight. One FAQ directly contradicts another

1. Choose Unit to Fight With

Any unit that charged or has models within 1" of an
enemy unit can be chosen to fight in the Fight phase.


BRB update 1.4
Q: If any of your units are eligible to fight in the Fight phase,
can you choose for them not to fight this turn? Also, if any of
your units charged in the Charge phase, do they have to fight
first in the Fight phase, or can you choose for them to wait until
later in the phase?
A: All eligible units must fight in the Fight phase; they
cannot ‘pass’ and wait for another phase.
   
Made in gb
Walking Dead Wraithlord






Fighting one is weird... Not sure How I feel about that one.

I sort of get it, because taking prisoners is such a potent tactic. You end up wanting to whiffing and not kill everything lol

https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/772746.page#10378083 - My progress/failblog painting blog thingy

Eldar- 4436 pts


AngryAngel80 wrote:
I don't know, when I see awesome rules, I'm like " Baby, your rules looking so fine. Maybe I gotta add you to my first strike battalion eh ? "


 Eonfuzz wrote:


I would much rather everyone have a half ass than no ass.


"A warrior does not seek fame and honour. They come to him as he humbly follows his path"  
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

No Contradiction here. The "can" details which unit may fight. Later in the very paragraph the rule states "the players alternate choosing eligible units to fight with ... until all eligible units on both sides have fought once each". You "can" select units that meet requirements A to C and must select all such units before the Fight Phase ends.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: