Switch Theme:

Command ReRoll  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

It says reroll 1 dice.

Everyone seems to reroll 1 die of a dice roll. But I think it means reroll the dice roll (meaning all dice involved in that roll)?
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 Sazzlefrats wrote:
It says reroll 1 dice.

Everyone seems to reroll 1 die of a dice roll. But I think it means reroll the dice roll (meaning all dice involved in that roll)?


Its 1 single die.

So if you make a charge roll, you just roll 1 die, not both.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






It's not a dice roll, it's a single dice.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

It’s a single die.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

So dice in British English is singular?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/01/21 03:35:06


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







 Sazzlefrats wrote:
So dice in British English is singular?


Whatever you want to call the English GW wrote the rules in, they don’t use “die” for the singular “one regularly sided polyhedron used as a manual random number or result generator”.
1 card, 2 cards, 3 cards, ...
1 dice, 2 dice, 3 dice, ...

Note that you’re probably more likely to see things like ‘the cards’ used instead of “the card(s)” in game rules than in normal English.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/01/21 04:36:40


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Sazzlefrats wrote:
So dice in British English is singular?
No, it's die but GW don't ever use the word die, they use dice to refer to single die.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Using dice for singular is, while not strictly correct, very common.
   
Made in gb
Smokin' Skorcha Driver




London UK

Using dice for singular is accepted as correct in most standar UK printed diciionaries and the Oxford dictionary even goes so far as to state that the word die was last used in 1751. Not sure how they prove that but hey...

Either way GW did the right thing by using a number to tell you how many to roll for the rule
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Being last used in 1751 is patently nonsense, presumably by some arbitrary standard of use that is effectively meaningless.

Regardless, dice for single common use - we have established this.
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





 Nithaniel wrote:
Oxford dictionary even goes so far as to state that the word die was last used in 1751.

You just used it right there

8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in se
Regular Dakkanaut




 Sazzlefrats wrote:
It says reroll 1 dice.

Everyone seems to reroll 1 die of a dice roll. But I think it means reroll the dice roll (meaning all dice involved in that roll)?


Dont you think such a fundamental miconception would have been sorted out a few years after release?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






If it meant dice roll it would say dice roll. It doesn't, so it doesn't.

It's truly that simple.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: