Switch Theme:

GK's tide of shadows -1 to hit.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM






So with the new GK tides, im trying to figure out if vehicles touching ruins would get the -1 to hit.
Spoiler:


I'm reading it as "entirely (on or within)" but one of my friends is arguing that its read as "(entirely on) or (within)"

Is this just another case of GW's poor wording?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




This isn’t a GW wording problem. The rule is clear.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It is "within"
It just is not entirely within
And that's not what's neeeded, so alls fine.
   
Made in us
Pious Palatine





Tacoma, WA, USA

From the FAQ:

Q: When determining whether a model benefits from cover, does the model’s entire unit need to be fully on or within terrain, or just the model making a particular saving throw?
A: All of the models in a unit need to be at least partially on or within terrain if any of the models are to receive the +1 bonus to their saving throw.


It is enough for the vehicle to be just touching the terrain.
   
Made in nz
Unshakeable Grey Knight Land Raider Pilot




This could be interpreted either way based on the plain English, but if you look at the wording of the basic rule for being in cover its exactly the same wording: "if a unit is entirely on or within cover"

Key here I guess is that the unit is the subject of the sentence, which is clear enough to distinguish what they're talking about from GWs point of view. Could definitely be clearer I think.

Note this wording isn't relevant to the 'entirely within' designers commentary/faq clarification entry which they published, the wording is different. Thats what tripped me up initially but people here have it right, touching area terrain is fine to get the -1.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: