Switch Theme:

Chaplain Litanies Catechism of Fire/Recitation of Focus  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fi
Jervis Johnson






This might be obvious to everyone, but there’s people who play this differently so I’d like to get a clarification. To my knowledge no FAQs or Erratas answer this question (possibly because it’s perceived as unambiguous).

So my question is, which of the following is correct:

Chaplain player rolls a 3+, if succeeded, the litany Catechism of Fire is inspiring and takes effect until the end of the battle round.

1) Player immediately after rolling 3+ chooses one of his units within 6” of the Chaplain. Later in his movement phase the unit can move anywhere it can and regardless of position will get +1 to wound against the nearest target with ranged attacks.

2) Player chooses a unit within 6” in the phase relevant to the litany, in this case the shooting phase. The shooting unit needs to be within 6” of the Chaplain to benefit from +1 to wound against the nearest target.

Of course, this is significant. 1 allows units like flyers or Centurions going on ambush to be launched from the Chaplain with a number or active litanies to the other side of the table. 1 also makes it impossible to give these two litanies to a unit arriving from deep strike in the movement phase.

Thank you.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





It's clear from the wording of the litany. You choose it at the time you chant it, at which point the target must be within 6". After that point the range is insignificant, the unit will continue to get the benefit.

Note it is entirely dependent on the wording of the individual litanies.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






It all depends on the wording of the individual litany. Gotta love bespoke rules, so much simpler!
   
Made in fi
Fresh-Faced New User




Don't Litanies happen at the start of the battle round and reinforcements arrive at the end of the movement phase? So there'd be no way to give either Litany to a unit arriving from deep strike.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Aspecti wrote:
Don't Litanies happen at the start of the battle round and reinforcements arrive at the end of the movement phase? So there'd be no way to give either Litany to a unit arriving from deep strike.


Correct that litanies are chanted at the start of the battleround, and therefore correct that if it requires a target then you cannot target a unit that hasn't arrived yet. Catechism of Fire cannot benefit a unit arriving from Deep Strike that same round.

However note that some other litanies are aura abilities that will affect units that later get into range, including those arriving from Deep Strike.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: