Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/08 01:12:53
Subject: Does Daemon Summoning cause Perils?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Like the title says. The summoning rule says if you roll doubles or triples you take mortal wounds, but it doesn’t actually call it Perils of the Warp. This comes up because the Thousand Sons now have a stratagem to ignore Perils, and I want to know if it would apply.
On a similar note, in the Death Guard codex, plague weapons reroll 1s to wound. A lot of weapons will just say “plague weapon”, but a few of them spell out “this weapon rerolls 1s to wound”. Are they affected by abilities that affect plague weapons?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/08 01:29:09
Subject: Does Daemon Summoning cause Perils?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Crackedgear wrote:Like the title says. The summoning rule says if you roll doubles or triples you take mortal wounds, but it doesn’t actually call it Perils of the Warp. This comes up because the Thousand Sons now have a stratagem to ignore Perils, and I want to know if it would apply. On a similar note, in the Death Guard codex, plague weapons reroll 1s to wound. A lot of weapons will just say “plague weapon”, but a few of them spell out “this weapon rerolls 1s to wound”. Are they affected by abilities that affect plague weapons?
It doesn't call it Perils of the Warp because it is not Perils of the Warp, it's not a psychic test, it has nothing to do with the rules for psychic tests. What weapons? A quick glance at the codex shows that no weapons say "re-roll wound rolls of 1" in their abilities, but several have the Plague Weapon ability (unless I missed something).Regardless, if the weapon doesn't have the Plague Weapon ability it's not a Plague Weapon.
|
This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2020/02/08 01:33:05
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/08 01:39:03
Subject: Does Daemon Summoning cause Perils?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ok thanks.
Just looking really quickly, the blight launcher and plaguesword don’t say plague weapon. Looking at the plague marine datasheet.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/02/08 01:40:30
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/08 01:48:31
Subject: Does Daemon Summoning cause Perils?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Crackedgear wrote:Ok thanks.
Just looking really quickly, the blight launcher and plaguesword don’t say plague weapon. Looking at the plague marine datasheet.
Plagueswords already re-roll all failed wound rolls for the weapon whereas Plague Weapons only re-roll ones.
Blight Launchers do have the 'Plague Weapon' ability.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/08 02:00:39
Subject: Does Daemon Summoning cause Perils?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ghaz wrote:Crackedgear wrote:Ok thanks.
Just looking really quickly, the blight launcher and plaguesword don’t say plague weapon. Looking at the plague marine datasheet.
Plagueswords already re-roll all failed wound rolls for the weapon whereas Plague Weapons only re-roll ones.
Blight Launchers do have the 'Plague Weapon' ability.
Plague knife also doesn’t say plague weapon. I’m looking at the enhanced edition for blight launcher and it doesn’t say plague weapon. Wouldn’t be the first time the codex was missing something.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/08 02:10:52
Subject: Does Daemon Summoning cause Perils?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Yes it does. Are you looking at the weapon's profile?
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/08 02:18:46
Subject: Does Daemon Summoning cause Perils?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ghaz wrote:
Yes it does. Are you looking at the weapon's profile?
https://imgur.com/a/p2WNexw
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/02/08 03:10:02
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/08 03:11:49
Subject: Does Daemon Summoning cause Perils?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
But lists the inherent 'ability' to Plague Weapons.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/08 03:36:23
Subject: Does Daemon Summoning cause Perils?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Weird, p. 75 of the Death Guard codex says that a Plague knife is a "Plague Weapon ( pg 68)" (I snipped out some irrelevant bitz from that page).
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/02/08 03:37:59
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/08 04:06:34
Subject: Does Daemon Summoning cause Perils?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ok so I guess the answer is yes they count as plague weapons because my version of the codex is wrong.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/08 04:22:09
Subject: Does Daemon Summoning cause Perils?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Crackedgear wrote:Ok so I guess the answer is yes they count as plague weapons because my version of the codex is wrong.
To be fair your version, instead just of saying plague weapon and referencing a different link, lists precisely what a plague weapon does (the re-reoll thing).
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/08 04:24:25
Subject: Does Daemon Summoning cause Perils?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote:Crackedgear wrote:Ok so I guess the answer is yes they count as plague weapons because my version of the codex is wrong.
To be fair your version, instead just of saying plague weapon and referencing a different link, lists precisely what a plague weapon does (the re-reoll thing).
Right but the original question was if there’s an ability that affects plague weapons, does something not including the words “plague weapon” count, even if it lists what it does?
Also, most of the weapons in the codex actually say plague weapon and then give a description, it just made me wonder because some of them don’t.
Also also, I don’t know if there are any abilities that affect plague weapons, maybe I should have gone with drukhari poison weapons, because that codex does the same thing.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/02/08 04:29:04
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/02/10 08:18:58
Subject: Does Daemon Summoning cause Perils?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
A weapon follows the rules under its own profile no matter what, so if the sheet says that it does something then it does it. However, rules as written, any ability that affects a specific type of weapon (e.g. an aura ability that gives +1 to hit with plague weapons or something) will only affect weapons that are specifically stated to have that type.
In a friendly game you should have no problem getting your opponent to agree that a plague knife counts as a plague weapon but in a competitive environment you cannot rely on that.
|
8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
|
|
 |
 |
|