Switch Theme:

two different ranged weapons and a power klaw, how does it work?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I was going over the Imperial Guard codex with a buddy of mine and while looking at Commander Yarrick I noticed something that seemed off. he has a bolter pistol, storm bolter, and a power claw which begged the question of "how does that work?".

during the shooting phase is he able to fire both the pistol and the storm bolter? I would think one of his arms being a power klaw would make this not work.

if hes not able to fire both ranged weapons then what is the point of having two of them? I cant see you ever choosing the bolter pistol over either other weapon in any situation.

thanks all
-matt

   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

No, you can't use both the storm bolter and the pistol in the same shooting phase.

Pg 180, Big Rule Book

However, you can use the pistol while within 1" of an enemy, which is something you can't do with the storm bolter

What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in gb
Moustache-twirling Princeps




United Kingdom

Yarrick is not unique in this regard - many models/units have a pistol as well as their main weapon. The Pistol rules explain it:

Warhammer 40,000 Battle Primer wrote:
A model can fire a Pistol even if there are
enemy units within 1" of its own unit, but
it must target the closest enemy unit. In
such circumstances, the model can shoot
its Pistol even if other friendly units are
within 1" of the same enemy unit.

Each time a model equipped with both a
Pistol and another type of ranged weapon
(e.g. a Pistol and a Rapid Fire weapon)
shoots, it can either shoot with its
Pistol(s) or with all of its other weapons.
Choose which it will fire (Pistols or non
Pistols) before making hit rolls.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/02/21 12:33:41


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

You can fire:

- All non-Pistol non-Grenade weapons
- All Pistols
- One Grenade

So he can’t fire both in the same phase. The Bale Eye is there for shooting whilst he’s within 1” of an enemy unit.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in fi
Locked in the Tower of Amareo





If Yarrick seems odd look at scout bikers who can shoot twin boltgun, stormbolter and shotgun at the same time

Imperium should just equip all their captains with like 100 boltgun since they can shoot them all.

2024 painted/bought: 109/109 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





ah forgot about the special pistol rules, im still very new to this and there is waaaaaay to many rules to try and remember easily.

-matt
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: