Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
Times and dates in your local timezone.
Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.
Could I dynamic insertion deepstrike a combat squad of paladins with 4 incinerators 7" away, gate a land raider right next to them. Edict then embark in the land raider?
TheBoy wrote: Could I dynamic insertion deepstrike a combat squad of paladins with 4 incinerators 7" away, gate a land raider right next to them. Edict then embark in the land raider?
Edict Imperator allows you to move as if it were your movement phase right?
Are you allowed to embark in your movement phase?
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
TheBoy wrote: Could I dynamic insertion deepstrike a combat squad of paladins with 4 incinerators 7" away, gate a land raider right next to them. Edict then embark in the land raider?
Edict Imperator allows you to move as if it were your movement phase right?
Are you allowed to embark in your movement phase?
Sadly GW says no, because Special Snowflake FAQ.
Q: Can units embark inside a transport in a phase other than the
Movement phase, such as when they are using the Fire and Fade
Stratagem from Codex: Craftworlds, or when a unit performs a
Soulburst action to move again?
A: No, unless the rule in question specifically states that
the unit can embark inside a Transport.
TheBoy wrote: Could I dynamic insertion deepstrike a combat squad of paladins with 4 incinerators 7" away, gate a land raider right next to them. Edict then embark in the land raider?
Edict Imperator allows you to move as if it were your movement phase right?
Are you allowed to embark in your movement phase?
Sadly GW says no, because Special Snowflake FAQ.
Q: Can units embark inside a transport in a phase other than the
Movement phase, such as when they are using the Fire and Fade
Stratagem from Codex: Craftworlds, or when a unit performs a
Soulburst action to move again?
A: No, unless the rule in question specifically states that
the unit can embark inside a Transport.
So there was an FAQ I missed. (Not sure why you call them a "Special Snowflake FAQ" that is just a misnomer).
Just call it an FAQ.
No need to add extra things that are meaningless to it.
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
alextroy wrote: Any FAQ answer that doesn’t comply with BCB’s reading of the rules is a Special Snowflake FAQ. I think it’s in his contract.
Any FAQ that ignores what the rules say is a Special Snowflake FAQ. My entire schick is that "reading" isn't a factor, only what the rules say is.
Can we all at least agree GW's rules are a horrible mess that literally no-one can be expected to remember all the exceptions and FAQs to?
I think that's fair.
It's not quite as bad for us that have been following it from the start of the edition, having the changes happen incrementally - though even that is quite challenging.
alextroy wrote: Any FAQ answer that doesn’t comply with BCB’s reading of the rules is a Special Snowflake FAQ. I think it’s in his contract.
Any FAQ that ignores what the rules say is a Special Snowflake FAQ. My entire schick is that "reading" isn't a factor, only what the rules say is.
Can we all at least agree GW's rules are a horrible mess that literally no-one can be expected to remember all the exceptions and FAQs to?
There is no such rules term as Special Snowflake FAQ. That we can all agree on.
Stormonu wrote: For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
So I can't embark how about a dreadnought using smoke launchers in the shooting phase? Could I shoot then smoke launchers? Just curious because if I Shadow a doomglaive I could potentially have a -2 to hit if it can shoot on top of that it could make for a good distraction.
Is smoke launchers considered a shooting attack?
Is being able to shoot a condition required for smoke launchers or is it a special rule that can be activated instead of shooting?
TheBoy wrote: So I can't embark how about a dreadnought using smoke launchers in the shooting phase? Could I shoot then smoke launchers? Just curious because if I Shadow a doomglaive I could potentially have a -2 to hit if it can shoot on top of that it could make for a good distraction.
Is smoke launchers considered a shooting attack?
Is being able to shoot a condition required for smoke launchers or is it a special rule that can be activated instead of shooting?
Smoke launchers rules are clear, just look at the datasheet.
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.