Switch Theme:

White Scar's Wind Swift on a Transport  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in hk
Regular Dakkanaut




Hi guys,
I don't think that this will work, but the White Scars Wind Swift stratagem states:

"Use this stratagem in your Movement phase, after a White Scars unit from your army moves. That unit can move a second time this phase, but it can only advance as part of that move if it has not already advanced that phase. That unit cannot shot, make a charge move, or attempt or manifest psychic powers that turn."

So, if I have a librarian in an impulsor, double move using the stratagem can he disembark and then cast a psychic power?
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




jonny123 wrote:
Hi guys,
I don't think that this will work, but the White Scars Wind Swift stratagem states:

"Use this stratagem in your Movement phase, after a White Scars unit from your army moves. That unit can move a second time this phase, but it can only advance as part of that move if it has not already advanced that phase. That unit cannot shot, make a charge move, or attempt or manifest psychic powers that turn."

So, if I have a librarian in an impulsor, double move using the stratagem can he disembark and then cast a psychic power?


RAW states 'a' ( one article) unit. Since an impulsor is one unit, and a Librarian is treated as another unit, wind swift would not I believe apply to both--it would need to be one or the other. If the librarian is in the impulsor, it technically hasn't moved, the Impulsor has--which means that it couldn't benefit from the tactic as per 'after a white scars unit has moved'.

That's my interpretation anyway. I'm a fellow Newbie and may be wrong. Baconcatbug is very good at this stuff and is worth asking. He's already helped me out with a couple of things.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/03/11 05:09:43


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Yes, the librarian can disembark after the impulsor moved twice with the stratagem (and didnt advance), and cast a psychic power. The assault vehicle rule allows the embarked unit(s) to disembark after it has moved, but didnt advance. The swift wind stratagem has a limitation that the unit cannot cast a psychic power, but this doesnt affect the embarked unit, because of the transports rule, which says that embarked unit(s) cant be affected by anything. The stratagem affects the impulsor, which isnt the one casting the psychic power. All limitations off the stratagem only apply to the impulsor.
   
Made in hk
Regular Dakkanaut




Thanks for the reply!
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 p5freak wrote:
Yes, the librarian can disembark after the impulsor moved twice with the stratagem (and didnt advance), and cast a psychic power. The assault vehicle rule allows the embarked unit(s) to disembark after it has moved, but didnt advance. The swift wind stratagem has a limitation that the unit cannot cast a psychic power, but this doesnt affect the embarked unit, because of the transports rule, which says that embarked unit(s) cant be affected by anything. The stratagem affects the impulsor, which isnt the one casting the psychic power. All limitations off the stratagem only apply to the impulsor.


According to page 9 of the Battle Primer:

"Disembark: Any unit that begins its Movement phase embarked
within a transport can disembark before the transport moves."

There is no permission given to disembark after the transport moves. I don't see a correction for this in the main rulebook FAQ to allow disembarking after movement. I don't know if the Impulsor has a special rule that allows units to disembark after movement.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/03/11 14:40:07


 
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine



Manchester, UK

 doctortom wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Yes, the librarian can disembark after the impulsor moved twice with the stratagem (and didnt advance), and cast a psychic power. The assault vehicle rule allows the embarked unit(s) to disembark after it has moved, but didnt advance. The swift wind stratagem has a limitation that the unit cannot cast a psychic power, but this doesnt affect the embarked unit, because of the transports rule, which says that embarked unit(s) cant be affected by anything. The stratagem affects the impulsor, which isnt the one casting the psychic power. All limitations off the stratagem only apply to the impulsor.


According to page 9 of the Battle Primer:

"Disembark: Any unit that begins its Movement phase embarked
within a transport can disembark before the transport moves."

There is no permission given to disembark after the transport moves. I don't see a correction for this in the main rulebook FAQ to allow disembarking after movement. I don't know if the Impulsor has a special rule that allows units to disembark after movement.


A Impulsor does, as long as it doesn't advance.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Dadavester wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Yes, the librarian can disembark after the impulsor moved twice with the stratagem (and didnt advance), and cast a psychic power. The assault vehicle rule allows the embarked unit(s) to disembark after it has moved, but didnt advance. The swift wind stratagem has a limitation that the unit cannot cast a psychic power, but this doesnt affect the embarked unit, because of the transports rule, which says that embarked unit(s) cant be affected by anything. The stratagem affects the impulsor, which isnt the one casting the psychic power. All limitations off the stratagem only apply to the impulsor.


According to page 9 of the Battle Primer:

"Disembark: Any unit that begins its Movement phase embarked
within a transport can disembark before the transport moves."

There is no permission given to disembark after the transport moves. I don't see a correction for this in the main rulebook FAQ to allow disembarking after movement. I don't know if the Impulsor has a special rule that allows units to disembark after movement.


A Impulsor does, as long as it doesn't advance.


Okay, thanks! I knew some transports had it.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 doctortom wrote:
Dadavester wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Yes, the librarian can disembark after the impulsor moved twice with the stratagem (and didnt advance), and cast a psychic power. The assault vehicle rule allows the embarked unit(s) to disembark after it has moved, but didnt advance. The swift wind stratagem has a limitation that the unit cannot cast a psychic power, but this doesnt affect the embarked unit, because of the transports rule, which says that embarked unit(s) cant be affected by anything. The stratagem affects the impulsor, which isnt the one casting the psychic power. All limitations off the stratagem only apply to the impulsor.


According to page 9 of the Battle Primer:

"Disembark: Any unit that begins its Movement phase embarked
within a transport can disembark before the transport moves."

There is no permission given to disembark after the transport moves. I don't see a correction for this in the main rulebook FAQ to allow disembarking after movement. I don't know if the Impulsor has a special rule that allows units to disembark after movement.


A Impulsor does, as long as it doesn't advance.


Okay, thanks! I knew some transports had it.


Did you really think I didn't know the basic rules ? I also mentioned the impulsors assault vehicle rule, which allows disembarking after the transport has moved.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 p5freak wrote:


Did you really think I didn't know the basic rules ?


Since you asked, based on some of the responses you have given in the forum, I would not always answer that question "yes", I also kindly had a response from Datavestor my wondering if the Imupulsor had the special rule. People do have brain farts on the basic rules occasionally in here. No need to try to escalate things, just chill.
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




 p5freak wrote:
Yes, the librarian can disembark after the impulsor moved twice with the stratagem (and didnt advance), and cast a psychic power. The assault vehicle rule allows the embarked unit(s) to disembark after it has moved, but didnt advance. The swift wind stratagem has a limitation that the unit cannot cast a psychic power, but this doesnt affect the embarked unit, because of the transports rule, which says that embarked unit(s) cant be affected by anything. The stratagem affects the impulsor, which isnt the one casting the psychic power. All limitations off the stratagem only apply to the impulsor.


Wow, that's pretty awesome. Another reason to take Impulsors. So tanky and cheap for the points.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: