Switch Theme:

Craftworlds Statagem Forwarned vs Terminte Assault Drill and its disembarked passengers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

I get that forwarned allows a farseer to allow a unit within 6" to fire on any unit arriving via deepstrike. Does a disembarked unit count as deepstriking in this case?
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

RAW answer : A disembarking unit is set up mid turn, therefore they are reinforcements, as defined in the core rules. They can be targeted by forewarned.

Player friendly answer : There is a FAQ which says that you can't target a disembarking unit from a droppod with auspex scan, therefore disembarking units aren't reinforcements, and can't be targeted by forewarned.

Now pick whatever answer you like better

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/03/11 19:28:53


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

You cannot target disembarking unita with Forewarned. There’s an FAQ saying as much.

Ignore any soapboxing above and boil it down to just this.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

The answer is a definitive no per the main rulebook FAQ:

Q. Some rules – such as Early Warning Override in Codex: T’au Empire, the Ever Vigilant Stratagem in Codex: Adeptus Custodes, and the Auspex Scan Stratagem in Codex: Space Marines – allow units to shoot at enemy units that have just arrived on the battle eld as reinforcements, as if it were the Shooting phase.
Q1. If the unit arriving as reinforcements is a Character, can the ring unit shoot at it even if it is not the closest enemy unit?

A: No – unless the firing unit is using a weapon that allows them to target a Character even if it is not the closest enemy unit. This takes place ‘as if it were the Shooting phase’, so all the normal restrictions of the Shooting phase still apply.
Q2. If the unit arriving as reinforcements has another unit embarked inside it which must disembark after it has been set up (such as units embarked within a Drop Pod, or a Tyrannocyte), can the firing unit shoot at the unit as it disembarks?
A: No – though the unit can shoot at the Drop Pod/ Tyrannocyte before the units inside disembark.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: