Switch Theme:

Transhuman Physiology and Armored Resilience  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

Transhuman Physiology makes unmodified wound rolls of 1-3 fail.

Armored Resilience inflicts a -1 to wound rolls against the targeted unit.

Now, it seems pretty clear to me that the two rules don't stack, but there's an argument in the Necron Tactics thread where someone insists they do.

Can we get a general consensus on this?

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

From 'Transhuman Physiology' (emphasis added):

Until the end of the phase, when resolving an attack made against that unit, an unmodified wound roll of 1-3 always fails, irrespective of any abilities that the weapon or the model making that attack may have.

From 'Armoured Resilience' (emphasis added):

Until the start of your next Psychic phase, when resolving an attack that targets that unit, subtract 1 from the wound roll.

No. They don't stack. The first says 'unmodified' and the second is a modifier.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in es
Regular Dakkanaut




That's correct, they don't stack. If both are in play, you remove the dice with 1s, 2s and 3s and then you apply the -1 (and any other modifiers) and resolve as usual.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

If the targeted unit would be wounded on 2+, 3+ would be needed, when there is -1 to wound. When you roll 1,2,3,4,5,6 the dice with 1-3 would fail because of transhuman, and 4-6 would wound, because the result is 3-5, when you apply -1 from armoured resilience.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Agreed. If you need a 3 to wound due to SvT and have Transhuman Physiology and Armored Resilience in effect, a roll of 1-3 will fail as per Transhuman Physiology, and a roll of 4-6 (modified down to 3-5) will pass.
   
Made in ca
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





The Frozen North

The only situation in which you can really argue that they "stack" is, for instance, being shot by a Hammerhead's Solid Shot Railgun profile.

S10 means it would be wounding on 2+, which is reduced to unmodified 4s, 5s, or 6s from Transhuman Physiology. And then Armoured Resilence would mean that it cannot roll a 6+ to wound, and can thus never inflict additional Mortal Wounds.

Triggerbaby wrote:In summary, here's your lunch and ask Miss Creaver if she has aloe lotion because I have taken you to school and you have been burned.

Abadabadoobaddon wrote:I too can prove pretty much any assertion I please if I don't count all the evidence that contradicts it.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Edit.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/04/07 04:49:56


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: