Switch Theme:

Warp Time, Quicken, etc, not after Deep Strike  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Los Angeles

Oh, for goodness' sake. Found it with Google.

Nevermind, kids.

Spoiler:
Hey all, something to do while we're all sitting at home.

Somewhere in an 8e FAQ, it was disallowed to use Quicken, Twilight Pathways, or Warp Time on a unit after it arrived from Reserve. I'm having trouble finding that FAQ and I'd like to print a copy.

This is in the Craftworld FAQ 1.3, comes close, but not what I'm looking for.

"Q: When a Psyker in my army casts the Quicken psychic
power on one of my units, can that unit Advance when it makes
this move?
A: Yes."

I couldn't find it in the Big FAQ nor Chaos SM. I figured it might be listed with Warp Time, right? It's not in the Harlequin FAQ either.

Would someone please help find the link to the correct FAQ?

Thanks!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/04/10 17:12:49


"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.

"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013

Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

There is no such thing as a unit arriving from reserves.


BRB update 1.6
Q. The rules for reinforcements say that when a unit is set up
on the battlefield as reinforcements, it cannot move or Advance
further that turn, but can otherwise act normally (shoot,
charge, etc.).
Can such a unit make a charge move? Can it pile in
and consolidate?
A: Yes to both questions – the unit can declare a charge
and make a charge move, and if it is chosen to fight, it
can pile in and consolidate.

Can such a unit move or Advance for any other reason e.g.
because of an ability such as The Swarmlord’s Hive Commander
ability, or because of a psychic power such as Warptime from
the Dark Hereticus discipline, or because of a Stratagem like
Metabolic Overdrive from Codex: Tyranids, etc.?
A: No.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/04/10 17:34:50


 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





It's not an official game term, but it is common shorthand for models setup off the battlefield. As you well know, or you wouldnt have been able to answer the question.
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

What about abilities that teleport a unit from one location to another. Thousand sons comes to mind. Psychic Power: Sorcerous Facade... Select a unit within 6" Remove that unit from the battle field and set it up more than 9" away from enemy models.

1. Is warptime legit there? Not a thing about reinforcements.
2. Since they were on the board, we can do that turn 1?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Sazzlefrats wrote:
What about abilities that teleport a unit from one location to another. Thousand sons comes to mind. Psychic Power: Sorcerous Facade... Select a unit within 6" Remove that unit from the battle field and set it up more than 9" away from enemy models.

1. Is warptime legit there? Not a thing about reinforcements.
2. Since they were on the board, we can do that turn 1?
Anything that is "set-up" mid turn is reinforcements, as per the BRB. Teleporting means you can't use Warptime on the unit. Reinforcements does not mean "arrived from off the battlefield".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/04/10 22:13:09


 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






What BCB said. The rational behind that is that when you can't move during your movement phase, you also can't use abilities that allow you to move as if it were the movement phase.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Sazzlefrats wrote:
What about abilities that teleport a unit from one location to another. Thousand sons comes to mind. Psychic Power: Sorcerous Facade... Select a unit within 6" Remove that unit from the battle field and set it up more than 9" away from enemy models.

1. Is warptime legit there? Not a thing about reinforcements.
2. Since they were on the board, we can do that turn 1?
Anything that is "set-up" mid turn is reinforcements, as per the BRB. Teleporting means you can't use Warptime on the unit. Reinforcements does not mean "arrived from off the battlefield".


This doesnt work, and you know it.

A disembarking unit is set up mid turn, thus they are reinforcements, as per the BRB. The transports rule tells us that units that disembark can then act normally (move, shoot, charge, fight, etc.) during the remainder of their turn. At the same time the rules tell us that reinforcements cannot move or Advance further during the turn they arrive, their entire Movement phase is used in deploying to the battlefield. As we need to follow all rules when playing, a disembarking unit cant move. And it cant be warptimed, because its reinforcements.

No one plays it that way, a disembarked unit can move.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/04/12 09:57:50


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 p5freak wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Sazzlefrats wrote:
What about abilities that teleport a unit from one location to another. Thousand sons comes to mind. Psychic Power: Sorcerous Facade... Select a unit within 6" Remove that unit from the battle field and set it up more than 9" away from enemy models.

1. Is warptime legit there? Not a thing about reinforcements.
2. Since they were on the board, we can do that turn 1?
Anything that is "set-up" mid turn is reinforcements, as per the BRB. Teleporting means you can't use Warptime on the unit. Reinforcements does not mean "arrived from off the battlefield".


This doesnt work, and you know it.

A disembarking unit is set up mid turn, thus they are reinforcements, as per the BRB. The transports rule tells us that units that disembark can then act normally (move, shoot, charge, fight, etc.) during the remainder of their turn. At the same time the rules tell us that reinforcements cannot move or Advance further during the turn they arrive, their entire Movement phase is used in deploying to the battlefield. As we need to follow all rules when playing, a disembarking unit cant move. And it cant be warptimed, because its reinforcements.

No one plays it that way, a disembarked unit can move.

It doesn't matter how people play it, it's what the RaW says. Please stop trying to derail the thread. We were not talking about disembarking units.

Also Disembark has a special rule saying the unit may "act normally", which overrides the cannot move rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/04/12 12:55:39


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 BaconCatBug wrote:
It doesn't matter how people play it, it's what the RaW says. Please stop trying to derail the thread. We were not talking about disembarking units.

Also Disembark has a special rule saying the unit may "act normally", which overrides the cannot move rule.


I am not derailing anything. This thread is about moving reinforcements with warptime, or a similar ability. Disembarked units are reinforcements, they are set up mid turn. A disembarked unit can move normally, but they cant be warptimed, because they are reinforcements ?

   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 p5freak wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
It doesn't matter how people play it, it's what the RaW says. Please stop trying to derail the thread. We were not talking about disembarking units.

Also Disembark has a special rule saying the unit may "act normally", which overrides the cannot move rule.


I am not derailing anything. This thread is about moving reinforcements with warptime, or a similar ability. Disembarked units are reinforcements, they are set up mid turn. A disembarked unit can move normally, but they cant be warptimed, because they are reinforcements ?

Correct. It's almost like GW have a mass of contradictory FAQs and Rules, or something.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 p5freak wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
It doesn't matter how people play it, it's what the RaW says. Please stop trying to derail the thread. We were not talking about disembarking units.

Also Disembark has a special rule saying the unit may "act normally", which overrides the cannot move rule.


I am not derailing anything. This thread is about moving reinforcements with warptime, or a similar ability. Disembarked units are reinforcements, they are set up mid turn. A disembarked unit can move normally, but they cant be warptimed, because they are reinforcements ?



Disembarked units are not reinforcements.

I can not fathom why you think they are.

The reinforcements rules state "Many units have the ability to be set up on the battlefield mid-turn..."

What unit has the ability to disembark?

Because none of the dataslates I have seen list "disembarking" as a units ability.

Unless you have a citation from an FAQ I missed.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






"The ability" is not the same as "An ability". Anyway, let's not derail this thread please?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 BaconCatBug wrote:
"The ability" is not the same as "An ability". Anyway, let's not derail this thread please?

But they don't have an ability. The ability is granted by the transport, not them. They're not reinforcements.
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

nosferatu1001 wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
"The ability" is not the same as "An ability". Anyway, let's not derail this thread please?

But they don't have an ability. The ability is granted by the transport, not them. They're not reinforcements.
So if I deep Strike a unit with a strat, are they not reinforcements?

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 JNAProductions wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
"The ability" is not the same as "An ability". Anyway, let's not derail this thread please?

But they don't have an ability. The ability is granted by the transport, not them. They're not reinforcements.
So if I deep Strike a unit with a strat, are they not reinforcements?
A strat that a unit can use...

So the strat is their ability.

The same is not true for a transport allowing a unit to disembark.

The transport has the ability to embark and disembark units. Units dont get to disembark were to not for the transports rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/04/12 22:27:43


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

 DeathReaper wrote:
 JNAProductions wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
"The ability" is not the same as "An ability". Anyway, let's not derail this thread please?

But they don't have an ability. The ability is granted by the transport, not them. They're not reinforcements.
So if I deep Strike a unit with a strat, are they not reinforcements?
A strat that a unit can use...

So the strat is their ability...
No, it's an outside ability. And, for all of them that I know of, they're NOT unit-specific.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Disembarking is not Reinforcements, no matter how many times a few peeps repeat that they think it is.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
[MOD]
Villanous Scum







Seems like this is done.

On parle toujours mal quand on n'a rien à dire. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: