Switch Theme:

Debating Emperor's Children. Questions on Daemonette's and summoning.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Central California

My understanding/questions that need clarification: (Like many, my dedication to this game isn't to the point where I remember all of the places rules are etc, so I fear I have missed things)
1: In matched (points) play, I pay for the units of daemonettes I hope to summon from my point total as per the BRB FAQ under reinforcements (summoning creates a new unit as I read it). My confusion is really around the summoning rules listing only power level.
A: I pay the points, but keep a Power Level number as that is how they are summoned? or...
B: I pay the points and they can be deployed as a regular part of my army? (I have not found a rule saying they must be summoned, but I do miss things) or...
C: Some combination of the two, both or neither...

If someone could run through several examples of how daemonettes are bought and brought into a battle, I would really appreciate it.

2: I am running Emperor's Children. All have the keyword Slaanesh, and therefore can be stuck in the same detachment together. According to the big FAQ Slaanesh is not one of the keywords omitted from army wide use. Correct?

Keeping the hobby side alive!

I never forget the Dakka unit scale is binary: Units are either OP or Garbage. 
   
Made in us
Daemonic Dreadnought





Eye of Terror

Here's how it works:

1) Set aside points for summoning at the start of the game. That's the reserve points.

2) Roll the dice to summon. That gives you a number. You can summon units up to that power level.

3) Subtract the cost of the unit - in points - from your reserve points. Then put the unit on the table.

This is one of those weird mechanics where points and power level are included.

With regard to the second question, summoned units are not part of a detachment. You are correct, Slaanesh is not an omitted keyword.

   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





edwardmyst wrote:
2: I am running Emperor's Children. All have the keyword Slaanesh, and therefore can be stuck in the same detachment together.

You would lose out on bonuses if they were in the same detachment so it would be better to have a detachment of Emperor's Children and a separate detachment for any daemons of Slaanesh that start on the board. Summoned daemons do not belong to any detachment so their allegience is irrelevant.


8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

1. If you roll a 4+ with your summoning roll you can summon a unit of 1-10 models. If you want to summon a unit with 11-19 models you must roll 8+. A roll of 12+ is required for 21-30 models. Each model costs 6 pts. from your reinforcements pool. You then set up the new unit within 12" of the character who summoned it, and more than 9" away from any enemy model.

2. Yes, you can use SLAANESH as a common keyword for a detachment, but you dont get any legion trait, and you dont any get daemonic loci.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Central California

Okay, thanks I appreciate the time. Think I have it down.

I did not see any comments refuting that daemonette's can start on the table if I wish in a matched play game, so going with that as well.

Keeping the hobby side alive!

I never forget the Dakka unit scale is binary: Units are either OP or Garbage. 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

To be 100% clear, you can purchase a unit of Daemonettes to be part of your army. If your army is Battle-Forged, they must be placed in a legal detachment for the type of play (Open, Narrative, Matched) of your game. Such a unit must be deployed at the beginning of the game unless you use a special rule to place them somewhere else.

In Matched Play, that means they need to either be in a Daemon Faction or Slaaneesh Faction Detachment per their faction keywords since you are barred from building a Chaos detachment.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






edwardmyst wrote:
2: I am running Emperor's Children. All have the keyword Slaanesh, and therefore can be stuck in the same detachment together. According to the big FAQ Slaanesh is not one of the keywords omitted from army wide use. Correct?
FWIW, Summoned units are not part of any detachment.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/04/25 19:24:25


 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






edwardmyst wrote:
Okay, thanks I appreciate the time. Think I have it down.

I did not see any comments refuting that daemonette's can start on the table if I wish in a matched play game, so going with that as well.

If you purchased a unit of Daemonettes to be part of your army in a suitable detachment, you must set them up as normal. A unit purchased as part of your roster in this way cannot be summoned during the game; it must be set up with your army (or in the Warp using the Denizens of the Warp stratagem, if using a DAEMON detachment).

If you don't have the daemons in a detachment but have instead put aside reinforcement points with the intention to summon some during the game, you cannot just set them up with your army before the game; they can only be summoned using the Daemonic Ritual rule during the game. This is because there is no rule allowing you to spend reinforcement points on daemons in any way other than using the Daemonic Ritual rule, which can only be used during the movement phase.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/04/26 00:23:58


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 Cheex wrote:
This is because there is no rule allowing you to spend reinforcement points on daemons in any way other than using the Daemonic Ritual rule, which can only be used during the movement phase.


A master of possession can summon in the psychic phase with incursion.
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






 p5freak wrote:
 Cheex wrote:
This is because there is no rule allowing you to spend reinforcement points on daemons in any way other than using the Daemonic Ritual rule, which can only be used during the movement phase.


A master of possession can summon in the psychic phase with incursion.

I knew someone would find an exception I wasn't considering
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Central California

@Cheex: Thanks! That was a clear explanation and I appreciate it. Now I understand the difference. No one in my group has purchased the daemon book itself so obviously we were missing those rules.

Keeping the hobby side alive!

I never forget the Dakka unit scale is binary: Units are either OP or Garbage. 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





edwardmyst wrote:
@Cheex: Thanks! That was a clear explanation and I appreciate it. Now I understand the difference. No one in my group has purchased the daemon book itself so obviously we were missing those rules.


If you are interested in bringing Daemons in any significant number, you'll be much better off bringing a Daemon detachment rather than summoning. Bring a Battalion to earn some CP, and use some of that CP to teleport some of the units using Denizens. No rolling for power level, no forcing a character to stand still.

Sure, you lose a bit of the flexibility summoning has, but that is only relevant if you have the collection to take advantage of it. And even then, the use cases for most of the different units are very slim.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Central California

Again, really appreciate the information and discussion. Stux, I'm with you. It'll depend on how many daemons I end up painting I guess.

Keeping the hobby side alive!

I never forget the Dakka unit scale is binary: Units are either OP or Garbage. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: