Switch Theme:

Nearest Enemy Model During Pile In?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




The rules text for pile in reads
You may move each model in the unit up to 3" – this move can be in any direction so long as the model ends the move closer to the nearest enemy model.

If before moving there was an enemy model A that was one inch away, and another enemy model B that was two inches away, am I allowed to move two inches to go base to base with model B or do I have to end closer to A?
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Provided you end the move closer to model A than before you moved, then yes you can end up base to base with model B.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

You must end your Pile-In move closer to Model A, the closest enemy model. If you can move into B2B with Model B while also moving closer to Model A, it is a legal move.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






You need to end closer to the closest enemy model, you do NOT need to move directly towards the closest any model.

If your model starts 1" away from Model A, and 3" from Model B, you can move in any way you see fit with the pile in so long as you end up 0.999999999(an arbitrary but not infinite amount of 9's)" or closer to Model A, even if this means you end up 0.1" away from Model B.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/05/07 23:07:23


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 BaconCatBug wrote:
You need to end closer to the closest enemy model, you do NOT need to move directly towards the closest any model.

If your model starts 1" away from Model A, and 3" from Model B, you can move in any way you see fit with the pile in so long as you end up 0.999999999(an arbitrary but not infinite amount of 9's)" or closer to Model A, even if this means you end up 0.1" away from Model B.


In theory yes. In practice you wouldnt be able to verify that you moved 0.0000001" closer to model A, while moving 1.5" closer towards model B, because the only measurement tool you have permission to use, the tape measure, isnt precise enough to measure those microscopic distances.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 p5freak wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
You need to end closer to the closest enemy model, you do NOT need to move directly towards the closest any model.

If your model starts 1" away from Model A, and 3" from Model B, you can move in any way you see fit with the pile in so long as you end up 0.999999999(an arbitrary but not infinite amount of 9's)" or closer to Model A, even if this means you end up 0.1" away from Model B.


In theory yes. In practice you wouldnt be able to verify that you moved 0.0000001" closer to model A, while moving 1.5" closer towards model B, because the only measurement tool you have permission to use, the tape measure, isnt precise enough to measure those microscopic distances.
What on earth are you talking about? "the only measurement tool you have permission to use", what nonsense is this. The rules say you require a tape measure, not that the tape measure is the only permitted method of measuring.

And yes, I am speaking in theoretical since the measurements I gave cannot practically be measured, but the point still stands even if I stick to 0.0393701" increments (a millimetre is very much measurable by tape measure).

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2020/05/08 07:26:27


 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Also, right now a lot of people are 0laying on Tabletop Simulator or similar. In a digital environment, arbitrarily small distances absolutely are measurable.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 BaconCatBug wrote:
What on earth are you talking about? "the only measurement tool you have permission to use", what nonsense is this. The rules say you require a tape measure, not that the tape measure is the only permitted method of measuring.


The rules tell you what you can do.

Tools of War
In order to fight a battle,
you will require a tape
measure and some dice.


It says tape measure. It doesnt say you can use whatever measuring equipment you desire.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/05/08 09:43:47


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






It also doesn't say that six sided dice are numbered 1-6.

It also doesn't say you can actually use the tape measure to measure distances, just that you need a tape measure.

There is a minimum level of English Language Parsing needed to play the game, even I acknowledge that.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/05/08 09:50:50


 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





 p5freak wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
What on earth are you talking about? "the only measurement tool you have permission to use", what nonsense is this. The rules say you require a tape measure, not that the tape measure is the only permitted method of measuring.


The rules tell you what you can do.

Tools of War
In order to fight a battle,
you will require a tape
measure and some dice.


It says tape measure. It doesnt say you can use whatever measuring equipment you desire.




The battle sets come with measuring sticks, I assume in your eyes these are now illegal to use?
The rules also say dice, not D6.

This isn’t part of the rules, it’s a piece of advice.
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






The smallest distance a GW tape measure can measure is the width of the metal hook at its end

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Jackal90 wrote:
The battle sets come with measuring sticks, I assume in your eyes these are now illegal to use?
The rules also say dice, not D6.

This isn’t part of the rules, it’s a piece of advice.
To be fair, a subsequent paragraph says "Warhammer 40,000 uses six-sided dice, sometimes abbreviated to D6."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/05/08 10:11:02


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Jackal90 wrote:

This isn’t part of the rules, it’s a piece of advice.


Is it ? How does one know what is advice, and what is actual rules ?

Tools of war is as much rules as other side bars like transports, re-rolls, fast dice rolling, etc.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 p5freak wrote:
Jackal90 wrote:

This isn’t part of the rules, it’s a piece of advice.


Is it ? How does one know what is advice, and what is actual rules ?

Tools of war is as much rules as other side bars like transports, re-rolls, fast dice rolling, etc.
And, again, it doesn't say you are only restricted to using a tape measure. In fact it doesn't allow you to use a tape measure, only that you must have one.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/05/08 10:29:00


 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 p5freak wrote:
Jackal90 wrote:

This isn’t part of the rules, it’s a piece of advice.


Is it ? How does one know what is advice, and what is actual rules ?


You dont. Not for certain. That's why a degree of common sense and interpretation is absolutely unavoidable in playing the game. It literally doesnt function if your only premises are RAW and Permissive Ruleset.
   
Made in nl
[MOD]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Cozy cockpit of an Archer ARC-5S

And we're done here, the question has been answered and it has yet again devolved into a tangent. I am disappointed.



Fatum Iustum Stultorum



Fiat justitia ruat caelum

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: