Switch Theme:

SoB Battle sanctum what counts as within.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

The battle sanctum kit comes as a central structure, a seperate large statue and a few optional extras such as parts for a freestanding pillar (its obvious where some go but their is no mention of them in the instructions).

The artwork show the large statue being placed above to a couple of inches to the left of and a couple of inches behind the main structure.

Obviously anything inside the structure counts as within.

What happens if i deploy the statue to left of the structure or behind the broken portion of the structure as the artwork shows. Does the area between statue and wall count as within for rules purposes even if your otherwise exposed.

If it does how far from the structure is reasonable placement.

   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






U02dah4 wrote:
The battle sanctum kit comes as a central structure, a seperate large statue and a few optional extras such as parts for a freestanding pillar (its obvious where some go but their is no mention of them in the instructions).

The artwork show the large statue being placed above to a couple of inches to the left of and a couple of inches behind the main structure.

Obviously anything inside the structure counts as within.

What happens if i deploy the statue to left of the structure or behind the broken portion of the structure as the artwork shows. Does the area between statue and wall count as within for rules purposes even if your otherwise exposed.

If it does how far from the structure is reasonable placement.
This falls under "Modelling for advantage". In short, you need to define what "within" is at the start of the game with your opponent. There is no RaW answer because the rules don't cover this scenario.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/05/14 14:16:25


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

I recognise their isnt a strict RAW in this case - and yes certainly agree with your opponent - best RAW answer.

I guess I was looking more for an aggregate RAI or HIWPI
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Fair enough. I personally would consider only the central structure to be the actual sanctum, the statue is just window dressing.

That being said, since it's a "single model" then you can argue that all parts of the model count as being measurable to regardless of how it's assembled.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

You’ll either need to base the whole thing, in which case it’s easy to define ‘within’, or agree the boundary with your opponent before the game so both parties are clear on what counts. Same as most other terrain really.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: