Switch Theme:

Daemonic Ritual question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Spawn of Chaos





Can any CHAOS CHARACTER summon any unit with this ability? To be more specific, can an undivided Chaos Lord from Codex: Chaos Space Marines summon a Skull Cannon from Codex: Chaos Daemons? I don’t see why not, but I could be missing something.

Here’s the rule for reference:

“Instead of moving in their Movement phase, any CHAOS CHARACTER can, at the end of their Movement phase, attempt to summon a DAEMON unit with this ability by performing a Daemonic Ritual (the character cannot do so if they arrived as reinforcements this turn, or if they were themselves summoned to the battlefield this turn).” And then it goes on about how to perform this action.

   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Yes, any CHAOS CHARACTER from any source has the ability to summon any unit with the "Daemonic Ritual" rule from any source on their datasheet.

A Chaos Lord without a <MARK OF CHAOS> can attempt to summon a Skull Cannon as both units meet the requirements of the Daemonic Ritual rule. Keep in mind it is a little confusing because the units that can summon don't have any special rule indicating such on their datasheet, the rule on the datasheet indicates what can be summoned, and the can attempt to summon portion of the rule affects any unit with the correct keywords (CHAOS CHARACTER) even though they don't have the rule on their datasheet.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/05/20 15:04:49


 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





Yes, as long as the marks do not conflict. Even Chaos Knight characters can summon, confirmed as correct by FAQ.

EDIT: Found an exception: Cypher. He is not allowed to summon anything due to a specific rule on his sheet.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2020/05/20 19:02:55


8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: