Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/05/25 11:21:30
Subject: Fight phase if the charged unit died in the charge phase?
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
|
I'm a bit confused with how the fight phase works, if the charging model kills its target already in the charge phase, namely by causing mortal wounds (see IG stratagems "Steel Phallanx" from the Emperors Fist Detachment and "Furious Charge" from Greater Good for example). Maybe others with more experience in assault can enlighten me.
So lets say I have a bunch of Bullgryns charging unit A, composed of a 3 one-wound models (maybe Oldmarines). The next enemy unit B is 5'' away from unit A. Is the following legal?
1. The Bullgryns charge and move within 1'' of unit A and 5'' of unit B.
2. They trigger "Furious Charge" with three successful roles so kill all Marines they charged. They now stand completely in the open
3. The fight phase starts. According to the core rules the Bullgryns can be activated, as they have charged the previous phase. They pile in 3'' towards unit B, so still are 2'' away
4. neither the Bullgryns nor B can actually roll attacks against each other, as they are still >1'' away
5. The Bullgryns can still be chosen to consilidate, as there is no requirement to have actually fought in the fight phase, they are now within 1'' of unit B.
|
~7510 build and painted
1312 build and painted
1200 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/05/25 11:27:33
Subject: Fight phase if the charged unit died in the charge phase?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Pyroalchi wrote:I'm a bit confused with how the fight phase works, if the charging model kills its target already in the charge phase, namely by causing mortal wounds (see IG stratagems "Steel Phallanx" from the Emperors Fist Detachment and "Furious Charge" from Greater Good for example). Maybe others with more experience in assault can enlighten me. So lets say I have a bunch of Bullgryns charging unit A, composed of a 3 one-wound models (maybe Oldmarines). The next enemy unit B is 5'' away from unit A. Is the following legal? 1. The Bullgryns charge and move within 1'' of unit A and 5'' of unit B. 2. They trigger "Furious Charge" with three successful roles so kill all Marines they charged. They now stand completely in the open 3. The fight phase starts. According to the core rules the Bullgryns can be activated, as they have charged the previous phase. They pile in 3'' towards unit B, so still are 2'' away 4. neither the Bullgryns nor B can actually roll attacks against each other, as they are still >1'' away 5. The Bullgryns can still be chosen to consilidate, as there is no requirement to have actually fought in the fight phase, they are now within 1'' of unit B.
That is correct. You don't even need to have charged Unit B since you're not attacking them. Keep in mind Unit B will get to attack the Bullgryns when non-charging units start to fight. The 1" check is not checked only at the start of the phase, it's always checked on a continuous basis. If you managed to get within 1" of Unit B with your Pile In, you can't attack them unless you also declared Unit B as the target of your charge.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/05/25 11:28:29
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/05/25 11:28:59
Subject: Fight phase if the charged unit died in the charge phase?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Pyroalchi wrote:I'm a bit confused with how the fight phase works, if the charging model kills its target already in the charge phase, namely by causing mortal wounds (see IG stratagems "Steel Phallanx" from the Emperors Fist Detachment and "Furious Charge" from Greater Good for example). Maybe others with more experience in assault can enlighten me. So lets say I have a bunch of Bullgryns charging unit A, composed of a 3 one-wound models (maybe Oldmarines). The next enemy unit B is 5'' away from unit A. Is the following legal? 1. The Bullgryns charge and move within 1'' of unit A and 5'' of unit B. 2. They trigger "Furious Charge" with three successful roles so kill all Marines they charged. They now stand completely in the open 3. The fight phase starts. According to the core rules the Bullgryns can be activated, as they have charged the previous phase. They pile in 3'' towards unit B, so still are 2'' away 4. neither the Bullgryns nor B can actually roll attacks against each other, as they are still >1'' away 5. The Bullgryns can still be chosen to consilidate, as there is no requirement to have actually fought in the fight phase, they are now within 1'' of unit B. Steps 1-3 are correct. For step 4, the bullgryns can be chosen to consolidate towards unit B, if they are now within 1” of unit B, unit B can not fight them provided that they haven’t already been activated this fight phase, subject to normal fight phase activation rules (barring special rules). The Bullgryn unit goes through its whole fight sequence: pile in, fight (if able to), consolidate before any other unit would activate. If you don’t want unit B to be able to attack you, you’d need to end the consolidate move more than 1” from unit B.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/05/25 11:30:13
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/05/25 11:39:19
Subject: Re:Fight phase if the charged unit died in the charge phase?
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
How can the bullgryns be within 1" when they were 5" away and consolidate 3" ? Step 4 as described is correct.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/05/25 11:46:16
Subject: Re:Fight phase if the charged unit died in the charge phase?
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
|
Ah, I forgot that the Bullgryns make their consolidate move before B is activated. So correctly it should be (changes in bold):
1. The Bullgryns charge and move within 1'' of unit A and 5'' of unit B.
2. They trigger "Furious Charge" with three successful roles so kill all Marines they charged. They now stand completely in the open
3. The fight phase starts. According to the core rules the Bullgryns can be activated, as they have charged the previous phase. They pile in 3'' towards unit B, so still are 2'' away
4. the Bullgryns can not roll attacks against B, as they are still >1'' away
5. The Bullgryns can still be chosen to consilidate, as there is no requirement to have actually fought in the fight phase, they are now within 1'' of unit B.
6. When B is activated they can roll attacks against the Bullgryns that are within 1'' of them
|
~7510 build and painted
1312 build and painted
1200 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/05/25 14:39:01
Subject: Re:Fight phase if the charged unit died in the charge phase?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Pyroalchi wrote:Ah, I forgot that the Bullgryns make their consolidate move before B is activated. So correctly it should be (changes in bold):
1. The Bullgryns charge and move within 1'' of unit A and 5'' of unit B.
2. They trigger "Furious Charge" with three successful roles so kill all Marines they charged. They now stand completely in the open
3. The fight phase starts. According to the core rules the Bullgryns can be activated, as they have charged the previous phase. They pile in 3'' towards unit B, so still are 2'' away
4. the Bullgryns can not roll attacks against B, as they are still >1'' away
5. The Bullgryns can still be chosen to consilidate, as there is no requirement to have actually fought in the fight phase, they are now within 1'' of unit B.
6. When B is activated they can roll attacks against the Bullgryns that are within 1'' of them
Yes, this is correct. Automatically Appended Next Post: p5freak wrote:How can the bullgryns be within 1" when they were 5" away and consolidate 3" ? Step 4 as described is correct.
They were 5” away before the pile in move. After pile in 3” they are 2” away. So with 3” consolidate move they can be within 1”.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/05/25 14:40:30
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/05/25 18:34:26
Subject: Re:Fight phase if the charged unit died in the charge phase?
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Right, pile in and consolidate are 6". My bad.
|
|
 |
 |
|