Switch Theme:

Jest Inescapable  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Been Around the Block




This is coming from a non-native English speaker. The enemy wouldn't receive the benefit of cover to its saving throw every time my DJ with this ability shoots, right? Or is it only when rolling a 6+ to wound (which wouldn't make much sense)?
[Thumb - Untitled.png]

   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






eparedes0785 wrote:
This is coming from a non-native English speaker. The enemy wouldn't receive the benefit of cover to its saving throw every time my DJ with this ability shoots, right? Or is it only when rolling a 6+ to wound (which wouldn't make much sense)?
It only ignores cover when you roll a natural 6 to wound. The lack of a comma before the 'and' means it's "Each time a model shoots, an unmodified wound roll of 6 (does X and Y)" not "Each time a model shoots, (an unmodified wound roll of 6 does X), and (do Y).

If it ignored cover on every shot, it would say so before the section about wounding. Also keep in mind this does NOT trigger on a 6+ to wound, only on a natural 6.

This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2020/05/27 08:57:44


 
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




All clear now. Thank you very much. Yes, I'm aware it only works on an unmodified wound roll of 6.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




I wondered about this too, as a native English speaker. I agree with Bacon that grammatically it seems to apply only a 6. But I've seen tons of people on the internet interpreting it differently, and I wouldn't be surprised to see a FAQ answering at some point, because at a minimum, it's not as clear as it could be.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: