Switch Theme:

Suit of hidden knives vs. blood-drinker talisman  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

So, my exalted bloodthirster, with one wound left, attacks a harlequin character with the suit of hidden knives. He kills the harlequin, and i roll a 5+ for the talisman. I would regain one lost wound after all close combat attacks have been resolved for that fight. But, i also had one hit roll of one. The harlequin player rolls a 2+ for the suit, and my bloodthirster would suffer a MW, after the unit has resolved all of its attacks. What happens ? Is my bloodthirster killed, and removed from the battlefield, or does he go from 1 wound to 2 wounds, and suffer the MW, going back to 1 wound ?

Spoiler:


The Suit of Hidden Knives
Roll a D6 each time a hit roll of 1 is made for an enemy model targeting the wearer in the Fight phase. On a 2+, that model's unit suffers a mortal wound after the unit has resolved all of its attacks.



EDIT : Ok, nevermind, sequencing would deal with it. Nothing to see here.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/05/29 16:58:22


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





It depends on if you're a one model unit at the time. Blood drinker talisman resolves after your exalted bloodthirster has made its attacks. The Suit of Hidden Knives deals the mortal wound after the unit has resolved all of its attacks. So, if you're not a 1 model unit or the last model to resolve in the unit, then you would get the wound back before taking a mortal wound.

If you're a 1 model unit or the last model in the unit to resolve your attacks, it looks like it would be simultaneous and therefore subject to sequencing. If it's your turn then your guy lives; if it's the opponent's turn he'll probably choose for you to take the mortal wound before and recovery, killing you. (We'll have to see if they let a similarly worded rule apply to a mutiple model unit, or if 9th edition suddenly lets characters join other units again).

This would be a good thing to write GW about so they can include it in a FAQ; I'm sure they haven't considered it. It's conceivable they could write a FAQ answer changing things so the Exalted Bloodthirster would always get the wound back before being dealt a wound

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/05/29 17:44:49


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






I agree that Sequencing would be invoked here.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

I concur. So he lives on your turn and dies on the Harlequins turn

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/05/29 18:44:46


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: