Switch Theme:

Psychic powers with same name, but different text  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Central California

This may have been covered before, but I found nothing on this in searching this forum or the discussion or tactics. I just need clarification/thoughts.
This is my first time running chaos. My army is one detachment of CSM Emperor's Children, 1 Detachment of Slaanesh Daemons. I was not surprised to find Delightful Agonies in both spell lists.
So, by GW's ruling, they are the same spell, and therefore suffer the penalty for multiple casting. Yet they have different text (CSM cast on a 6+ and get a 5+++, daemons of Slaanesh cast on a 5+ and get a 6+++)
I am right that only the title matters, and if my Emperor's children sorcerer casts it on say noise marines, my Herald of Slaanesh now needs +1 to cast it on say, my Daemonettes? (I know these do not stack etc, and cannot be cast across detachments in this example)

Is this same name/different text an error? An oversight? GW rules as usual? Or did I miss something changing the text of one or the other?

Keeping the hobby side alive!

I never forget the Dakka unit scale is binary: Units are either OP or Garbage. 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Weird, once a psychic power is attempted, it can not be cast again. At least it used to be that way, did this change and I missed it?



"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






edwardmyst wrote:
This may have been covered before, but I found nothing on this in searching this forum or the discussion or tactics. I just need clarification/thoughts.
This is my first time running chaos. My army is one detachment of CSM Emperor's Children, 1 Detachment of Slaanesh Daemons. I was not surprised to find Delightful Agonies in both spell lists.
So, by GW's ruling, they are the same spell, and therefore suffer the penalty for multiple casting. Yet they have different text (CSM cast on a 6+ and get a 5+++, daemons of Slaanesh cast on a 5+ and get a 6+++)
I am right that only the title matters, and if my Emperor's children sorcerer casts it on say noise marines, my Herald of Slaanesh now needs +1 to cast it on say, my Daemonettes? (I know these do not stack etc, and cannot be cast across detachments in this example)

Is this same name/different text an error? An oversight? GW rules as usual? Or did I miss something changing the text of one or the other?

Why do you think there is +1 to cast for the second attempt? That isn't a thing except for Smite. In Matched Play you cannot attempt the same power more than once in the same turn, as per the Psychic Focus rule in CA19.

https://www.warhammer-community.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/12/warhammer_40000_chaos_daemons_en.pdf
Q: For the purposes of the Psychic Focus matched play rule, is the Miasma of Pestilence psychic power from Codex: Chaos Daemons the same psychic power as in Codex: Death Guard?
A: Yes. More generally, if psychic powers have the same name, they are the same psychic power for the purposes of Psychic Focus.
Why this is buried in the Chaos Daemons FAQ is beyond me.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2020/05/30 20:29:07


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Central California

My mistake completely, I was thinking of the rules for Smite, and forgetting that they are not a general rule for all powers. My apologies.

Keeping the hobby side alive!

I never forget the Dakka unit scale is binary: Units are either OP or Garbage. 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

The psychic powers have the same name, but they are different. Chaos daemons version is manifested on a 5, ignores wounds on 6+, and it affects SLAANESH DAEMONS. CSM version is manifested on a 6, ignores wounds on 5+, and it affects SLAANESH HERETIC ASTARTES.

But, as BCB already said, only one attempt can be done to manifest one of them.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





However whether or not they are 'different' is not relevant to the OP's question in regards to casting it again. Because the FAQ says "More generally, if psychic powers have the same name, they are the same psychic power for the purposes of Psychic Focus." Therefore you can only cast one or the other version in a given psychic phase, not both.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: