Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/05 17:40:23
Subject: Death Jester with Humbling Cruelty shooting t'au
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Say I shoot the shrieker cannon of my Death Jester with humbling cruelty pivotal ability using the 3 shoots profile at a tau battlesuit or infantry model. If two of those attacks hit, only one wounds and the Tau player uses the saviour protocols to pass the attack converted into 1MW to the drones, would both the unit and the drone be affected by humbling cruelty rule?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/05 17:56:49
Subject: Death Jester with Humbling Cruelty shooting t'au
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Both Units. The Original Unit due to the weapon rule triggering on a hit, and the Drones unit due to the FAQ. RaW the Drones should not be affected, only the original unit should be. The FAQ applies to each individual attack, so if the attack doesn't get passed onto the Drones, it still affects the original unit.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2020/06/05 17:58:25
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/05 18:00:00
Subject: Death Jester with Humbling Cruelty shooting t'au
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
BaconCatBug wrote:Both Units.
The Original Unit due to the weapon rule triggering on a hit, and the Drones unit due to the FAQ. RaW the Drones should not be affected, only the original unit should be. The FAQ applies to each individual attack, so if the attack doesn't get passed onto the Drones, it still affects the original unit.
Agreed, bacuase of the FAQ the one that wounded gets passed along to the drones, while the hit that didn't wound still inflicts Humbling Cruelty on the original unit
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/05 19:19:22
Subject: Death Jester with Humbling Cruelty shooting t'au
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
Hate to be the voice of dissent here, but tremor shells is on hit as well isn't it? So why wouldn't humbling cruelty as an on hit effect also transfer to the drone unit?
|
DT:80S++G++MB++I+Pw40k07+D++A++/areWD-R++T(T)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/05 19:23:58
Subject: Death Jester with Humbling Cruelty shooting t'au
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Aftersong wrote:Hate to be the voice of dissent here, but tremor shells is on hit as well isn't it? So why wouldn't humbling cruelty as an on hit effect also transfer to the drone unit?
Yes, it does, but only if that hit is transferred by the drone. If you hit, and fail to wound (or the Savior Protocols roll fails), Savior Protocols can't transfer the effect as per FAQ. Remember, EACH attack inflicts the effect. Remember, the rules assume each attack is being made one at a time, and each shot is an "attack".
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/06/05 19:25:06
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/05 21:16:01
Subject: Death Jester with Humbling Cruelty shooting t'au
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Aftersong wrote:Hate to be the voice of dissent here, but tremor shells is on hit as well isn't it? So why wouldn't humbling cruelty as an on hit effect also transfer to the drone unit?
Because it only passes to the drone if it wounds the target. If it merely hits but fails to wound, savior protocols never activate, so the effect stays on the unit that was hit instead of going onto the drone the wound was passed off onto.
This is incredibly stupid, but it's what the FAQ says. The FAQ makes zero sense - effects that trigger on a hit should always effect the unit they hit, whether they wound or not - but it is what it is. Nobody ever said GW's rules always make sense.
Ironically, if you are trying to tremor shell t'au, you actually hope you don't wound with at least one roll.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/26 12:28:14
Subject: Re:Death Jester with Humbling Cruelty shooting t'au
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Sorry, I posted in the wrong thread
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/06/26 12:29:24
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/06/27 04:06:19
Subject: Death Jester with Humbling Cruelty shooting t'au
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Never mind.
OP: why would anyone think that the non-wounding hit doesn't apply?
Each "shot" is an attack.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2020/06/27 04:12:37
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
|