some bloke wrote:Just a thought - and I haven't got my books to hand (house move) so I can't check if it's covered or not - what are the interactions with a Big Mek and a grot oiler, if the big mek is the warlord?
- if the mek dies and the oiler lives, as the unit is still alive and it is still a "big mek" unit, does the opponent get slay the warlord?
- if the mek takes a warlord trait, does this apply to the grot oiler too?
- if the grot oiler is treated as a character, can the oiler be declared the warlord and take traits & relics?
cheers!
1) No, a you pick a single
model to be your Warlord.
BRB page 186. This can be any non-Fortifications model (as per the errata forbidding Fortifications from being your Warlord). If that model is a
CHARACTER, it gains a Warlord Trait. If you chose the Grot Oiler (see below) or some random Ork Boss Nob to be your Warlord, it would not get a Warlord Trait.
2) As per 1, only the model chosen as the Warlord gains the Warlord Trait.
3) It cannot, as the Grot Oiler does not have the
CHARACTER keyword. Codex: Orks, page 86. Keep in mind the
BRB FAQ regarding mixed
CHARACTER/non-
CHARACTER models however.
WARHAMMER 40,000 RULEBOOK Official Update Version 1.6, Page 4 wrote:Q: Some CHARACTER units can include non-CHARACTER models – the Genestealer Cults Patriarch and its Familiar ‘upgrade’, for example. Can such a unit be shot at even if it isn’t the closest visible enemy unit?
A: No. The restrictions on targeting CHARACTERS applies to a unit whilst any model in the unit has the CHARACTER keyword (and none have 10 or more wounds).