Switch Theme:

3 Units Charge a Unit and Wipe It, Do They All Consolidate?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord




Inside Yvraine

There's some contention in my group about whether all three units consolidate or just the unit/model that dealt the killing blow.
   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor




Tacoma, WA, USA

It's in the FAQ. All units that Charge must be selected to fight before the Fight phase ends. Any unit that is selected to fight may Pile In and Consolidate.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






BRB FAQ
Q: If a unit starts the Fight phase within 1" of an enemy unit
but, due to casualties suffered and models removed, it is no
longer within 1" of any enemy units later in the phase, can it
still be chosen to fight?
A: No, unless the unit in question charged this turn it
cannot be chosen to fight if there are no longer enemy
units within 1". Note that it is possible – if heavy enough
casualties have been incurred – that even a unit that
did charge may not be close enough, even after a pile in move, to make close combat attacks. It can still, of
course, consolidate.

A unit that charges will always pile in and consolidate, even if it can't make any attacks.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/06/30 09:45:40


Add me on Discord: BaconCatBug#0294 +++++List of "broken" RaW in Warhammer 40,000 8th edition+++++
+++++List of documents required to play Warhammer 40,000 8th edition+++++
Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written (or modified by Special Snowflake FAQ) in the rulebooks, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective. Even GW agrees with me, send an email to 40kfaq@gwplc.com for a confirmation reply "4. Apply The Rules As Written. If you still don’t have a satisfactory answer, use the rule just as it is written if you possibly can, even if you are not completely happy with the effect the rule has."
Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities || Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. || Userscript to add a button to open all "[First Unread]" links on the page, hides the "[Blog View]" links, and adds a "Subscribed Threads" link to forum pages.  
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





*may always pile in and consolidate. Its always optional, and even if you choose to do it you can do it 0".
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter





 BlaxicanX wrote:
There's some contention in my group about whether all three units consolidate or just the unit/model that dealt the killing blow.


The procedure would be as follows:

Units A, B, and C charge
Unit A piles in
Unit A fights
Unit A consolidates
Unit B piles in
Unit B fights
Unit B consolidates
Unit C piles in
Unit C fights
Unit C consolidates

Piling in and consolidating are part of the unit's activation on the fight phase, so the first activated unit will completely finish consolidating in accordance with the rules for doing so before the next activated unit gets to being piling in.

So the answer to the letter of your question is yes. Unless otherwise forbidden, all units that charge get to fight, pile in, and consolidate even if they have no valid targets to fight.
However, the answer to the spirit of your question is "probably no", only the unit that scored the killing blow and any that follow it consolidate meaningfully, because units that didn't destroy it will generally have to be consolidating into the still-yet-undestroyed unit or remaining stationary.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/06/30 16:19:56


Guardsmen, hear me! Cadia may lie in ruin, but her proud people do not! For each brother and sister who gave their lives to Him as martyrs, we will reap a vengeance fiftyfold! Cadia may be no more, but will never be forgotten; our foes shall tremble in fear at the name, for their doom shall come from the barrels of Cadian guns, fired by Cadian hands! Forward, for vengeance and retribution, in His name and the names of our fallen comrades! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: