Switch Theme:

Can Warp Surge be used on Warp Talons?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

The only thing I see different from Warp Talons and regular daemons is Warp Talons have a generic keyword daemon, and regular daemons have their daemon keyword as a faction keyword.


I'm running the warp talons as alpha legion with mark of nurgle, and the daemon detachment is nurgle as well.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/09 08:48:03


 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






No - see the Codex: Daemons FAQ.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






RaW, yes it can be used.

However, Codex Daemons has a special FAQ preventing it from being used.
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

is this that faq? version 1.5

Page 126 – Warp Surge
Change the rules text of this Stratagem to read:
‘Use this Stratagem at the start of any phase. Select a
unit of Daemons from your army; until the end of the
phase, you cannot re-roll saving throws for this unit, but
its invulnerable save is improved by 1 (to a maximum
of 4+).’

If it is I'm not sure I understand it.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/07/09 15:12:27


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




No, it's the general FAQ on what you can use the codex strats on:

When a Stratagem from Codex: Chaos Daemons uses the DAEMON keyword, can it be used to affect any unit with the DAEMON keyword, or only units with the DAEMON Faction keyword?
A:
These Stratagems can only affect units with the DAEMON Faction keyword.


Note that this is itself somewhat misleading, because it's not true that the strats can only "affect" units with the DAEMON faction keyword. They can only *target* units with that faction keyword, but if they produce effects like an aura or something like that, the effect WILL hit warp talons, just like, say, a +1STR bonus from a herald will hit them.
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

OMG Rules and FAQ salad strikes again.


How about we just go back to the end of 4th ed. It was so much simpler back then, I've lost track of how many sources I need to play chaos soup. I played a game a few days ago. My opponent asked my what my 9th psychic power was that I got off during my turn, and I had to tell him I honestly couldn't remember what it did, something in combat which if happens I'll look up. //rant off

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: