Switch Theme:

Can you put a Fortification in strategic reserves in 9th edition?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Yes, it sounds ridiculous to have a building show up on the battle edge on T2. But can anyone find anything that would actually prevent you from putting a fortification in strategic reserves? The strategic reserves rule itself doesn't prohibit it, nor do the mission rules for strategic reserves, or the general movement phase rules for reinforcements, as far as I can tell.

   
Made in de
Junior Officer with Laspistol






It would definitly be interesting. Sure some things are nonsensical, but a hidden bunker? A trenchline you could not see on turn one (maybe it was covered)? a Void Shield Generator that was camouflaged as rock? Why not?

~7510 build and painted
1312 build and painted
1200 
   
Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





lol a webway gate,,,, thats deepstrikeseption XD

As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.

RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW.
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Seems that way. The fact it has a M of 0 or - is irrelevant as you "set up" the unit when it arrives from strategic reserve.
   
Made in au
Rookie Pilot




Brisbane

Step 1:
Let's put 3 groups of 2 Vengeance Weapons Batteries armed with Icarus Lascannons into reserves!

Step 2:
Wait for the Tau to place his objectives

Step 3:
Get punched in the face when you pop these up and fire at all his Battlesuits hitting on 4's with 4 Lascannons apiece. Whilst forcing him to divert most of his forces to deal with the sudden wave of Creed-ified turrets...

He has to choose whether to ignore 24 lascannon shots with 96" range that are hitting their FLY units automatically (not much can survive 12 Lascannon hits a turn); or risk losing a fair chunk of their fastmovers when they go for these and inevitably get shot down. Objectives could be real cancerous for Tau Battlesuits in this case...

I will not rest until the Tabletop Imperial Guard has been reduced to complete mediocrity. This is completely reflected in the lore. 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





"Sir, we can't shoot."

"Uh, why not?"

"Well sir, you see, we were deep in enemy territory when a Bunker jumped us."

"Jumped you!?"

"Yes, sir, jumped us."

"That seems incredibly unlikely."

"Oh yes sir, very much sir. But we fought it for a round, and it actually got to attack first because it counted as charging."

"The bunker charged you???"

"Yes sir."

"I'm sorry, perhaps I didn't hear that correctly, because it sounded like you said that the bunker charged you."

"Yes sir, that is affirmative. We were jumped by a bunker when it charged us."

"How is that even possible? Bunkers don't move."

"I'm sorry sir, I don't know what to tell you, but we were moving in our opponent's deployment zone, and AHHH!"

"Whoa, why'd you scream there?"

"No sir. That's what it was like. It was.... AHHH!"

"And that's how it jumped you?"

"Yes sir, that's how it jumped us."

"..."

"So yeah, it jumped us, and we punched it, you know, with our fists. And now we're stuck fighting it. So, phew, that's taking a lot of our concentration."

"So you can't shoot at the target I'm asking you to shoot at?"

"Shucks sir. No can do."

"Yes, hello, Inquistor? Yeah, I'm going to need an exterminatus down here. No, no. No don't worry. Totally acceptable casualties. Yup. We all turned traitor. We're traitor now. Bye bye."

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: