Switch Theme:

Reroll failed hits before modifiers? (8th)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine




So I was shooting my 3+ BS Paladins at a -1 target with Kaldor Draigo nearby for the reroll failed hit rolls. My opponent then tells me that I can't reroll 3s, since rerolls come before modifiers, so without modifiers the Paladins technically hit, but the modifiers turns it into a miss. I've never encountered this before, is it legit?

In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move. - Douglas Adams
 
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

SirGunslinger wrote:
So I was shooting my 3+ BS Paladins at a -1 target with Kaldor Draigo nearby for the reroll failed hit rolls. My opponent then tells me that I can't reroll 3s, since rerolls come before modifiers, so without modifiers the Paladins technically hit, but the modifiers turns it into a miss. I've never encountered this before, is it legit?
If the rule reads "Reroll ANY hit roll", then you can reroll 3s.

If it reads "Reroll FAILED hit rolls" then you cannot.

It's really dumb and unintuitive, but that's how it works.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Yes. Re-rolls occur before modifiers so you may end up re-rolling a roll that would have hit with the modifier because you missed without it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/18 18:40:27


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






SirGunslinger wrote:
So I was shooting my 3+ BS Paladins at a -1 target with Kaldor Draigo nearby for the reroll failed hit rolls. My opponent then tells me that I can't reroll 3s, since rerolls come before modifiers, so without modifiers the Paladins technically hit, but the modifiers turns it into a miss. I've never encountered this before, is it legit?
Yes, it is legit and has always worked that way. It's why later books tended to replace "re-roll misses" to "re-roll all". Is it stupid that some Marines get better re-roll auras? Yes, but them's the breaks.
BRB FAQ wrote:Q: If a rule or ability grants a re-roll on, for example, ‘hit rolls of 1’ (such as a Space Marine Captain’s Rites of Battle ability) does that effect trigger before or after applying modifiers to the hit rolls?
A: Re-rolls always happen before modifiers, so the re-roll ability is triggered before applying modifiers.

For example, let’s imagine a Space Marine (Ballistic Skill 3+) moves and fires a heavy bolter (a Heavy 3 weapon) whilst within range of a Space Marine Captain’s Rites of Battle ability (allowing you to re-roll hit rolls of 1).

The hit dice are rolled and result in a 1, 2 and 5. Re-rolls are applied before modifiers. In this example a single dice is re-rolled because of the Captain’s ability, this time resulting in a 3.

Modifiers are applied after re-rolls. In this example there is a -1 modifier to the hit rolls for moving and firing a Heavy weapon. That means that the post-re-roll scores of 2, 3 and 5 are modified to 1, 2 and 4. Comparing the final results to the model’s Ballistic Skill, only one shot hits the target.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/18 18:50:25


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: