Switch Theme:

[9th] Can you charge Aircraft with a unit that has fly?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Dakka Veteran




Sounds silly, but can you charge an Aircraft unit?

Reading page 13, 2nd paragraph under "Aircraft Engagement Range" we have:
Whenever a model makes any kind of move, it can be moved across Aircraft models (and their bases) as if they were not there, and they can be moved within an enemy Aircraft model’s Engagement Range, but it cannot end the move on top of another model (or its base), and it cannot end the move within Engagement Range of any enemy Aircraft models.
So in a nutshell, you can't end any kind of move within Engagement Range of any enemy Aircraft models. Unless I've overlooked something (entirely possible), this means that you can't end a charge move within Engagement Range of enemy Aircraft models.

Help me Dakka, what am I overlooking?
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

A charge is a move which isnt done in the movement phase, in the charge phase the restriction that you cant move within engagement range of an AIRCRAFT doesnt apply, thats only during the movement phase. You can move within engagement range of all enemy units in the charge phase (when you declared them as a charge target), otherwise you wouldnt be able to fight.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2020/07/22 13:20:05


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






I agree. The restriction for AIRCRAFT only applies in the movement phase. The Airborne rule on the datasheet then restricts which models can charge it.
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran




Well, you'll see that Normal Move, Advance, and fall back have the line "but no model can be moved within Engagement Range of enemy models", so that kind of covers them, and so charging doesn't need an exception - you can see that in the wording on page 19/20 when it comes to actually charging.

However, if the quoted paragraph only applies in the movement phase, does that mean chargers can't move through aircraft as if they weren't there in the charge phase? I mean, it's right there in the 2nd paragraph, but if you are saying that only applies in the movement phase.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Yes, it means you cant charge through AIRCRAFT. Nothing says they are ignored the charge phase, for the purpose of the charge. AIRCRAFT are ignored for heroic interventions, pile in and consolidations, see movement phase, pg. 13.
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran




Ok, that's cool. I guess I mis-understood the Warhammer Community team when they said "Models can move over Aircraft (and their based) when they make any kind of move." (yeah, I know they aren't an authoritative rules source)
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

The WC team was right about that, but only in the movement phase.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 p5freak wrote:
Yes, it means you cant charge through AIRCRAFT. Nothing says they are ignored the charge phase, for the purpose of the charge. AIRCRAFT are ignored for heroic interventions, pile in and consolidations, see movement phase, pg. 13.


The AIRCRAFT aren't ignored if the model/unit can FLY (last note on page 13)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/22 15:16:11


 
   
Made in us
Haemonculi Flesh Apprentice






 p5freak wrote:
A charge is a move which isnt done in the movement phase, in the charge phase the restriction that you cant move within engagement range of an AIRCRAFT doesnt apply, thats only during the movement phase. You can move within engagement range of all enemy units in the charge phase (when you declared them as a charge target), otherwise you wouldnt be able to fight.


This isn't correct. In fact the charge phase sequence doesn't even prevent you from charging an aircraft. The only prerequisite is being within 12" to declare a charge. Meaning according to your logic, infantry can charge aircraft, only we know they cannot since the advanced rules clearly state you cannot end AMY MOVE within engagement range. It even goes on later an mentions 3 types of move that never occur during the movement phase as further evidence. Pile ins, heroic interventions and consolidations.

It's also not addressed in the designer notes in the back.

   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Are we going to discuss this in two separate threads now ??
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: