Switch Theme:

9th Edition & the Riptide's Boost option from Nova Charging - Engagement Range clarification  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Stealthy Kroot Stalker





Hello, friendly folks.

This question popped up on a Facebook WH40k T'au group, and the interpretation seemed clear (albeit disappointing) to me, but it wasn't apparently as clear to others.

QUESTION: Can a Riptide use the Burst option from their Nova Reactor to move away from enemies if it is within Engagement Range?

As part of the 9th edition T'au Codex FAQ/ERRATA, they changed the Riptide's Nova Reactor's Boost option to the following:

"This model can move 2d6" in your Charge phase. You cannot use this ability to move within Engagement Range of any enemy models. If it does so, this model cannot declare a charge that phase."

Rules analysis:

Within is defined in the 9th edition rulebook as having any part of the base (or hull, if no base) within the range listed - a sliver counts just as much as the entire base. This is distinguished between "wholly within", which only counts the latter.

The 2d6" distance the Riptide covers is considered moving ("...can move...").

A Riptide that starts its move within Engagement range is, thus, within Engagement Range.

The same applies for a Riptide that is in the process of moving.

The same applies for a Riptide that ends its move within Engagement Range.

A Riptide that is already in Engagement Range thus cannot move without "moving within Engagement Range".

This ability Expressly forbids using it "to move within Engagement Range...".

Persuasive Evidence:

The FLY keyword in 9th edition allows models to move within Engagement Range of enemy models, but doesn't allow you to finish your move within Engagement Range. To do so, it explicitly distinguishes between the former ("...can be moved within Engagement Range...") and the latter ("... cannot finish their move ... within Engagement Range...").

If the Riptide's ability was intended to only apply to models finishing their move within Engagement Range, it would explicitly state that limited restriction instead of the broader, all-inclusive restriction.

CONCLUSION:
A Riptide may not use Boost to move out of Engagement Range of enemy models.

Any flaws in my logic here? Rules of Statutory Construction I should have applied differently?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

You are correct in your thinking.

A Riptide may not use Boost to move out of Engagement Range of enemy models.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






No, it may not. If it begins within engagement range, then some infinitesimal part of that move must be used to bring it "within" engagement range. As you may not do this, it logically follows you cannot use the ability while within engagement range.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Note that this isn't a new ruling, just a rewording of the 8th edition T'au Empire FAQ to bring it in line with 9th edition language.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: