Switch Theme:

Valkyrie Grav-Chute Insertion in 9E  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Rookie Pilot




Brisbane

So, we have the new Transport rules which state that we must disembark BEFORE the Transport moves.

And then we have the Grav-Chute Insertion rule which only works AFTER the Valkyrie has moved, where the models can be placed somewhere along its' route.

I think this is a simply fantastic way to showcase GW's rule creations in its' finest glory! Just like the Eye of Terror!

This is almost as interesting as adding a Commissar to a Tempestus Detachment and still getting the Regimental Trait!

I will not rest until the Tabletop Imperial Guard has been reduced to complete mediocrity. This is completely reflected in the lore. 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

Codex-specific rules trumps those in the main rulebook. Not really an opportunity to start moaning about GW's rules creations.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

There is no change here. Worked exactly the same in 8th.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/28 12:46:51


 
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






IIRC, there has never been a rule that allowed disembarking after the transport moved unless it had a special rule.
   
Made in ca
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran



Canada

 Slayer6 wrote:
So, we have the new Transport rules which state that we must disembark BEFORE the Transport moves.

And then we have the Grav-Chute Insertion rule which only works AFTER the Valkyrie has moved, where the models can be placed somewhere along its' route.

I think this is a simply fantastic way to showcase GW's rule creations in its' finest glory! Just like the Eye of Terror!

This is almost as interesting as adding a Commissar to a Tempestus Detachment and still getting the Regimental Trait!


There is no change from 8th. The bespoke rule exists for a reason. It is giving your embarked troops permission to disembark. This makes the Valkyrie a little different. The Impluser has something similar (but different).

Regarding the Tempestus Detachment and Commissars, you should read Psychic Awakening The Greater Good. It tells you what you need to know. Its gonna blow your mind.

All you have to do is fire three rounds a minute, and stand 
   
Made in au
Rookie Pilot




Brisbane

TangoTwoBravo wrote:
 Slayer6 wrote:
So, we have the new Transport rules which state that we must disembark BEFORE the Transport moves.

And then we have the Grav-Chute Insertion rule which only works AFTER the Valkyrie has moved, where the models can be placed somewhere along its' route.

I think this is a simply fantastic way to showcase GW's rule creations in its' finest glory! Just like the Eye of Terror!

This is almost as interesting as adding a Commissar to a Tempestus Detachment and still getting the Regimental Trait!


There is no change from 8th. The bespoke rule exists for a reason. It is giving your embarked troops permission to disembark. This makes the Valkyrie a little different. The Impluser has something similar (but different).

Regarding the Tempestus Detachment and Commissars, you should read Psychic Awakening The Greater Good. It tells you what you need to know. Its gonna blow your mind.


You make it sound as if they did something right... could it be?

Anyway, exalting everyone.

I will not rest until the Tabletop Imperial Guard has been reduced to complete mediocrity. This is completely reflected in the lore. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 skchsan wrote:
IIRC, there has never been a rule that allowed disembarking after the transport moved unless it had a special rule.


Earlier editions, notably around 3rd and 4th edition. The "Rhino Rush" was a common tactic back then. They changed the rules later to force disembarking before moving the transport in reaction to this tactic in the earlier editions.

Grav-Chute Insertion would override normal transport rules. It also wouldn't make sense to try to do what they're intending by making the passengers jump out at the start of the movement phase, before the Valykrie moves.
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot






Iowa

 Slayer6 wrote:
So, we have the new Transport rules which state that we must disembark BEFORE the Transport moves.

And then we have the Grav-Chute Insertion rule which only works AFTER the Valkyrie has moved, where the models can be placed somewhere along its' route.

I think this is a simply fantastic way to showcase GW's rule creations in its' finest glory! Just like the Eye of Terror!

This is almost as interesting as adding a Commissar to a Tempestus Detachment and still getting the Regimental Trait!

That was already resolved before and after the GG PA. The Valkyrie rule allows for it to happen afterwards.

If the truth can destroy it, then it deserves to be destroyed. 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Was just about to post a question elsewhere but found this topic.

Regarding the grav chute insertion (and thus precision drop strat) can units disembark from a valkyrie that arrived from strategic reserves on the same turn?
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

dominuschao wrote:
Regarding the grav chute insertion (and thus precision drop strat) can units disembark from a valkyrie that arrived from strategic reserves on the same turn?

I'd say no... grav-chute insertion has to happen during a move. Turning up from strategic reserves is described specifically as being "set up", much the same as when you deploy or arrive from deep strike - and it also happens in the Reinforcement phase, after you've moved other units. In other words, arriving from reserves doesn't constitute an actual move.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






dominuschao wrote:
Was just about to post a question elsewhere but found this topic.

Regarding the grav chute insertion (and thus precision drop strat) can units disembark from a valkyrie that arrived from strategic reserves on the same turn?
I'm inclined to believe that you can because:

1. a unit entering from reserves is counted as if it had moved distance equal to its M value or if it has a minimum movement, it's maximum M value.
2. grav chute insertion allows the valkyrie to disembark after the model has moved.
3. disembarking is not restricted to 'move units' subphase of the movement phase (it just has to occur before the model moves).

Since the maneuver in question abides by all the rules in place, I don't see why it can be illegal.


But on a second read, the conditions for disembarking explicitly states "if a unit starts its Movement phase embarked within a Transport model", which the valkyrie's contents can never fulfill (because if you entered by reinforcement, then the units embarked on it could never have started its movement phase embarked on a vehicle).

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/10/16 21:22:20


 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Oooh, no, wait - good points skchsan - I'd forgotten about the units having counted as moved, so that's fulfilled. But also, units can embark in a transport even if it's in reserves! It's mentioned that you can start the battle embarked on a Transport instead of being set up separately - and there's nothing about that rule that states the transport has to be on the table first.
This is alluded to on page 256:
the number of CPs required depends on the combined Power Ratings of all the units you wish to place into Strategic Reserves (including those embarked within Transport models that are themselves placed into Strategic Reserves)

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






You can't 'start' any phase if you're not on the battlefield.
Core rules, pg 12
DISEMBARK
If a unit starts its Movement phase embarked within a Transport
model
, that unit can disembark in that phase so long as the model
itself has not yet made a Normal Move, an Advance or has Fallen
Back that phase.

The models attempting to disembark must have had started the movement phase embarked in a transport. Being embarked in a transport in its reinforcement 'locale' =! being embarked in a transport at the start of movement phase.

If you are starting the movement phase in its reinforcement locale, off the battlefield, then it is not starting its movement phase embarked in a transport. You're coming onto the battlefield in the middle of the movement phase, during the reinforcements sub-phase, before your movement phase ends.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2020/10/16 21:30:27


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Also, doesn't Grav-Chute insertion happen along a line between the start and the end of movement of the Valkyrie? There wouldn't be a defined start point, just "off the board"
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






 doctortom wrote:
Also, doesn't Grav-Chute insertion happen along a line between the start and the end of movement of the Valkyrie? There wouldn't be a defined start point, just "off the board"
FWIW, you can choose to disembark at its 'end' location.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 skchsan wrote:
You can't 'start' any phase if you're not on the battlefield.
Citations needed, because I do not see anything in the rules that says that.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

 skchsan wrote:
You can't 'start' any phase if you're not on the battlefield.
Core rules, pg 12
DISEMBARK
If a unit starts its Movement phase embarked within a Transport
model
, that unit can disembark in that phase so long as the model
itself has not yet made a Normal Move, an Advance or has Fallen
Back that phase.

The models attempting to disembark must have had started the movement phase embarked in a transport. Being embarked in a transport in its reinforcement 'locale' =! being embarked in a transport at the start of movement phase.

If you are starting the movement phase in its reinforcement locale, off the battlefield, then it is not starting its movement phase embarked in a transport. You're coming onto the battlefield in the middle of the movement phase, during the reinforcements sub-phase, before your movement phase ends.

Fair point that grav-chute insertion is stated as a disembark, but I still maintain that the unit starts the Movement phase embarked and thus still qualifies.
Here's the quote from page 210:
Units can start the battle embarked within a Transport instead of being set up separately

This points to the decision to embark them happening during deployment, so they're in there before turn 1 begins.


(...side note - given how often people here, myself included, refuse to budge from a position? I'm finding it highly amusing that we've convinced each other to defend the other's original take.)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/10/17 00:24:05


"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

You cannot disembark from a Valkyrie that deploys from off the board because you have to disembark during the Move Units part of the Movement Phase, not the Reinforcements part of the movement phase. Only during the Move Units part of the Movement Phase are you allowed to select a unit to move, which you must do to disembark. Grav-Chute Insertion must by used during the Valkyrie's move, but deploying as Reinforcement is not moving. In fact, a unit that deploys as Reinforcement is specifically not allowed to move for any reason.
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

Again, good points alextroy. I change my position back to my original.
...man, I feel like a flip-flop.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Well that clinches it thanks for the help.
   
Made in de
Witch Hunter in the Shadows



Aachen

How do drop pods work then?
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Special rule on the Drop Pod that dictates the embarked unit disembarks immediately upon deployment of the Drop Pod.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: