Switch Theme:

What happens when a unit cant fully disembark ?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

In 8th models that cant be placed within 3" of the transport and more than 1" from enemy models are destroyed. In 9th there is no such rule. What happens when you cant place every model ? Does it prevent the unit from disembarking ? Are you house ruling it to work like in 8th ? RAW, i think, the unit wouldnt be able to disembark. What if they disembark from a destroyed transport, and cant be placed, and you dont have 2CP left for emergency disembark ?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/29 15:18:54


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 p5freak wrote:
In 8th models that cant be placed within 3" of the transport and more than 1" from enemy models are destroyed. In 9th there is no such rule. What happens when you cant place every model ? Does it prevent the unit from disembarking ? Are you house ruling it to work like in 8th ? RAW, i think, the unit wouldnt be able to disembark.
Yes, the unit cannot disembark willingly if this is the case.

As for what happens if they are forced to disembark, then you have two options. You either pay for the Emergency Disembarkation stratagem and hope you have enough space. If you can't, won't or still don't have enough space, TMIR kicks in as the rules don't cover this situation.

Hopefully they will errata this as it smacks of lazy writing to have an extremely common occurrence have to fall back on TMIR.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/29 15:22:45


 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight





Fredericksburg, VA

You could fall back on the Unit Coherency rule.

Sometimes there will be insufficient room
to set up all the models from a unit, or it will not be possible to set
up all the models so that they are in unit coherency. When this is
the case, any models that cannot be set up are considered to have
been destroyed.


So if you've put all the models you can fit wholly within 3", (and not in Engagement range) and can not fit any more in coherency, they are destroyed. I mean that part is from adding models to a unit during a battle, which admittedly is not quite the same thing, but it would seem as though it could apply here too.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: