Switch Theme:

Does a 'killed' model that is coming back at end of phase count as 'destroyed'?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nl
Regular Dakkanaut




So, this came up during my game today with me playing Sisters of Battle. Using the stratagem Divine Intervention, I returned a Canoness to play at the end of a combat phase, after it was destroyed by Electro Priests. Does this model dying for the first time then activate their improved save ability? And will she count towards the secondary objective "Assassinate"? The same questions can be asked for Celestine and her Miraculous Intervention ability. I couldn't find a good answer in the rules and remember there was something in 8th saying that the model is not destroyed. Whether or not that was true and still is true in 9th, I wasn't able to verify during our game. I'd like to know for future games though, as it will probably come up quite regularly.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

If Divine Intervention saves her from dying, then they do not get the improved save.

If Divine Intervention lets her die then brings her back, they do get the increased save.

I am not 100% familar with Divine Intervention but I think it does the latter

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

If you have rules questions you should quote the relevant rules. We cannot know every rule.
   
Made in se
Fresh-Faced New User




Us3Less wrote:
So, this came up during my game today with me playing Sisters of Battle. Using the stratagem Divine Intervention, I returned a Canoness to play at the end of a combat phase, after it was destroyed by Electro Priests. Does this model dying for the first time then activate their improved save ability? And will she count towards the secondary objective "Assassinate"? The same questions can be asked for Celestine and her Miraculous Intervention ability. I couldn't find a good answer in the rules and remember there was something in 8th saying that the model is not destroyed. Whether or not that was true and still is true in 9th, I wasn't able to verify during our game. I'd like to know for future games though, as it will probably come up quite regularly.


. Does this model dying for the first time then activate their improved save ability?
Yes. This is explicit assuming you're talking about the OoML Conviction.
"In addition, when resolving an attack made by a model with this conviction, add 1 to the hit roll if one or more models from that model’s unit have been destroyed in this battle, even if they have been subsequently returned to the battlefield."

And will she count towards the secondary objective "Assassinate"?
No, Assassinate is an end game objective, not progressive. It counts which models are destroyed at the end of the game.
   
Made in nl
Regular Dakkanaut




The stratagem states: "Use this Stratagem when an Adepta Sororitas Character model [other than named characters] from your army is destroyed (…). Discard 1-3 Miracle dice. At the end of the phase, return that model to play with a number of wounds remaining equal to the number of Miracle dice you discarded, placing it as close as possible to its previous position and more than 1" away from any enemy models. You do not gain a Miracle dice for the destruction of that model this turn."

The ability of Celestine is worded in a similar fashion (the first time this model is destroyed… 2+ return this model to play).

I do not have the ability of the Electro Priests at hand. But the same question applies to the Feeder Tendrils Stratagem of the Tyranids: "Use when a Genestealer, Lictor, Toxicrene or Venomthrope kills a Character in the Fight Phase. Gain D3 command points.

The rules for Assassinate are that you score 3 VP at the end of the battle for each enemy character that is destroyed.

If they indeed count towards being destroyed before being returned to play, could they then be destroyed or killed again for the purposes of e.g. the Tyranid Stratagem?

Edit: I'm not meaning the order of our Martyred Lady, but the ability of the Electro Priests.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/31 20:45:02


 
   
Made in se
Fresh-Faced New User




Us3Less wrote:

If they indeed count towards being destroyed before being returned to play, could they then be destroyed or killed again for the purposes of e.g. the Tyranid Stratagem?

Edit: I'm not meaning the order of our Martyred Lady, but the ability of the Electro Priests.


Yes, they should count as destroyed for purposes of Siphoned Vigor and Feeder Tendrils. It doesn't count for Assassinate because Assassinate is only counted at the end of the game.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






It does not count towards Assassinate as that is only checked at the end of the battle.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/07/31 21:20:36


 
   
Made in nl
Regular Dakkanaut




Thanks all. The assassinate part is clear. Having reread the text myself it was a lot clearer. During the game we misread it as progressive scoring.

Regarding the returning of a model, does it count towards destroy triggers when it dies again? Seeing the replies in this topic, I'd now say that yes it does.

I think where my confusion came from was the 8th Slay the Warlord objective or kingslayer objective, which had similar wording as the stratagems, but wouldn't give the points for e.g. Celestine as warlord until she was no longer in the battlefield.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Us3Less wrote:
Thanks all. The assassinate part is clear. Having reread the text myself it was a lot clearer. During the game we misread it as progressive scoring.

Regarding the returning of a model, does it count towards destroy triggers when it dies again? Seeing the replies in this topic, I'd now say that yes it does.

I think where my confusion came from was the 8th Slay the Warlord objective or kingslayer objective, which had similar wording as the stratagems, but wouldn't give the points for e.g. Celestine as warlord until she was no longer in the battlefield.


Yes it can be "destroyed" a second time.

9th and secondaries does a pretty nice job with clearing issues 8th had.

For example "Assainate" and "cut off the head" both have pretty clear wording. In "Cut off the Head" there is an entire paragraph for revenant Warlords; because the conditions are Past imperfect "was destroyed". "Assassinate is Present tense "Is destroyed"

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

assassinate checks the end of game model state - so no

Thin the ranks counts the turns kill tally so yes
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: