Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/02 00:06:48
Subject: Cryptothralls and the Rule of 3.
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Starting to list build for Neinth Ed. and came across a rules conflict.
Are ‘Do not take up a slot’ Units, like the new Necron Cryptothralls restricted by the Rule of 3?
If I take a list with 3 Crypteks and/or Szeras/Orikan, can I get all of them their own set of Thralls?
|
Current Armies
40k: 15k of Unplayable Necrons
(I miss 7th!)
30k: Imperial Fists
(project for 2025)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/02 00:08:48
Subject: Cryptothralls and the Rule of 3.
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Akar wrote:Starting to list build for Neinth Ed. and came across a rules conflict. Are ‘Do not take up a slot’ Units, like the new Necron Cryptothralls restricted by the Rule of 3? If I take a list with 3 Crypteks and/or Szeras/Orikan, can I get all of them their own set of Thralls?
Units that do not take detachment slots are still in your army, and thus restricted by the "Rule of 3" in the Eternal War mission pack. BRB, Page 280 wrote:With the exception of units with the Troops or Dedicated Transport Battlefield Roles, or units that are added to your army during the battle that cost Reinforcement points, each player can only include the same datasheet in their army three times.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2020/08/02 00:10:03
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/02 02:46:21
Subject: Cryptothralls and the Rule of 3.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I read the rules as For every cryptek you can take a unit of cryptothralls.
So, more than 3 units that are cryptek= more than 3 units of murder buckets.
I'm seeing the thralls as being like troop transports, you have to take specific units to have one, so you have to have a unit that can be carried by a transport to take a transport. But you can have as many transports as you have units that can take them.
That's my take on it. Each cryptek can have 2 murderbuckets just like each unit that can be transported can have a transport.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/08/02 03:05:11
"But the universe is a big place, and whatever happens, you will not be missed..." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/02 03:07:20
Subject: Cryptothralls and the Rule of 3.
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Matt Swain wrote:I read the rules as For every cryptek you can take a unit of cryptothralls.
So, more than 3 units that are cryptek= more than 3 units of murder buckets.
I'm seeing the thralls as being like troop transports, you have to take specific units to have one, so you have to have a unit that can be carried by a transport to take a transport. But you can have as many transports as you have units that can take them.
That's my take on it. Each cryptek can have 2 murderbuckets just like each unit that can be transported can have a transport.
Sorry but that's totally wrong. The "Rule of 3" for Eternal War missions is explicitly clear.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/06 19:46:43
Subject: Cryptothralls and the Rule of 3.
|
 |
Power-Hungry Cultist of Tzeentch
|
I'm not positive, but if I assume right and rule of three is that you can't have more than 3 of the same datasheet, then what is preventing you from taking 3 units of 2 "Muderbuckets" ( love that phrase ) 1 unit for each Cryptek?
After re-reading the OP I see that I missed the part about a 4th Cryptek keyword model
So I would say that you could have up to 3 units of 2 Murderbuckets, but they all would still prevent the enemy from targeting the 4th Cryptek as long as he stayed within range.
|
<-- Tau Empire
FOR THE GREATER GOOD!!!
<-- Magnus did nothing wrong.
<-- 1010011010 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/06 20:12:01
Subject: Re:Cryptothralls and the Rule of 3.
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Even with 5 crypteks, you can only have 3 units of murderbuckets, because of the rule of 3.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2020/08/09 01:35:14
Subject: Cryptothralls and the Rule of 3.
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Thx all for the replies. Looks like I’m going to have to wait another edition for a Tournament.
|
Current Armies
40k: 15k of Unplayable Necrons
(I miss 7th!)
30k: Imperial Fists
(project for 2025)
|
|
 |
 |
|